Montgomery County Public Schools - Parents

 

MCPS 家長指南開始了解 MCPS (基本情況) → 學校的基本情況

學校的基本情況

走廊中的高中生

重要的學校資訊

家長指南錄影片: 點擊按鍵, 收看如何與教師溝通每年暑期﹐所有學校都會郵寄一套資料至學生家中﹐其中包含校車路線、上課時間、建議購買的文具用品、學校行事曆、以及與新學年有關的其它資料。

此外﹐還請特別留意開學頭幾週及學年期間發送至家中的重要資訊和表格。有些文件需要家長或監護人簽字並交回給學校。這些文件包括緊急資料表、孩子學校的紀律條例、免費和減價校餐的申請表、目錄資訊免除表、以及實地教學同意書。請同時查看在孩子學校網站公佈的消息和最新資料。

孩子的學校會通過多種方式為家長提供學校的相關資訊:

  • 信函和傳單會由學生帶回家﹐或直接郵寄至學生家中。
  • 您可經由學校主頁進入孩子學校的網站
  • 校長和 PTA 通訊會發送或郵寄至學生家中﹔許多學校還會在學校網站上張貼這些通訊。
  • 許多學校設有電子郵寄名單﹐家長可以加入這份名單﹐接收學校活動的通知﹐並交流與學校有關的問題和答覆。
  • 校長利用 Connect-ED 從學校發送自動語音電話訊息。

返校夜說明會

所有學校都會在開學後不久舉辦返校夜說明會。這項活動讓您有機會與校長、教師和其他工作人員會面﹐並了解孩子新學年在學校的學習內容。

學校關閉/延遲上學

由於天候狀況或其它緊急情況﹐學校可能會全天停課、延遲上學或提早放學。延遲上學是指學校比正常上學時間延後兩個小時開放。所有校車的行車時刻表也將同樣延後﹐因此﹐接學生上學的時間也將比正常時間延後兩個小時。提早放學是指學校比正常時間提前2.5個小時放學。發生這種情況時﹐所有校車的行車時刻表將同樣提前﹐因此﹐送學生到家的時間也將比正常時間提前2.5個小時。

請與孩子溝通, 確保他/她知道提早放學時的特殊安排。當原訂在校舍內舉行的午後和/或晚間活動被取消時﹐課外活動計劃、體育訓練、PTA 會議和類似活動也將被取消。

學校時間安排方面的變更資訊將通過以下方式公佈:

  • 通過 MCPS QuickNotes 發送的電子郵件
  • AlertMCPS
  • MCPS 有線電視34臺
  • 本地的電臺和電視臺
  • MCPS 網站
  • 您也可以致電 301-279-3673﹐收聽緊急電話錄音訊息。

因故缺席

Parent Guide Video: Attendance watch  button如果學生想要獲得成功﹐他們必須按時上學。可以接受的缺席理由包括:

  • 學生生病(如果缺席時間過長﹐則需要遞交醫生證明)
  • 直系親屬的亡故
  • 法院傳喚
  • 宗教節日
  • 本州進入緊急狀態
  • 校長批准(參觀大學校園、應徵工作、因特殊原因而需要工作)
  • 缺乏授權指定的交通工具(校車沒有出現)

除非在特殊情況下並獲得校長的批准﹐否則家庭旅行通常不被視為可接受的缺席理由。

只要孩子缺席﹐您都必須在孩子返校後的三天內遞交請假條。否則﹐孩子的缺席將被視為無故缺席。初中和高中的每一堂課都會點名查看考勤。

缺席情況會記錄在小學、 初中和高中的成績報告卡中。學校輔導員和學生人事專員可以協助家庭處理學生在出勤方面的問題。無論學生因何種原因缺席﹐他們都需要補交缺席期間錯過的課業﹔如果您有關於補課方面的問題﹐請與孩子的教師或輔導員聯繫。

更多資訊 

晚到/遲到

上課時間過後才到校的學生必須到辦公室簽到。所有遲到的學生必須遞交由家長簽名的請假條才能獲得批准。 在高中﹐三次無故遲到(晚到)等同一次無故缺席。遲到情況將記錄在各年級的成績報告卡中。

提早接學生

只有家長和/或由家長書面授權的人士才可以到學校接學生。家長可以在學年初收到的緊急資料卡中指定這些授權人士。家長也可以給學校一份書面通知﹐授權特定人員接孩子。在這種情況中﹐學校通常會致電家長進行確認。學校可能會要求該人士出示帶有照片的身份證明後才允許學生離校。

紀律條例

家長指南錄影片: 點擊按鍵, 收看學校守則為了確保安全有序的學習環境﹐Montgomery County 的所有學校都遵守在學生權利和責任指南(A Student's Guide to Rights and Responsibilities)中敘述的規定。學校系統會針對某些違紀行為採取必要的處罰措施。違法行為將會報告給 Montgomery County Police Department。

學生如有以下違紀行為﹐將被學校建議開除:  

  • 持有炸彈/仿冒爆炸物﹐或炸彈威脅
  • 有意圖散佈毒品的證據或散佈毒品
  • 持有槍械(包括發令槍)
  • 對學生或教職員進行的暴力人身攻擊
  • 使用武器導致身體的傷害/受傷

導致各種處罰的違紀行為﹐包括停學或開除:  

  • 學業上的不誠實或剽竊
  • 霸凌
  • 濫用電腦
  • 破壞公物
  • 勒索
  • 縱火
  • 欺侮和戲弄
  • 持有刀具
  • 持有其它武器
  • 對學生的人身攻擊
  • 對教職員的人身攻擊
  • 持有或使用毒品
  • 性騷擾
  • 性侵犯
  • 性行為(雙方自願的)
  • 偷竊
  • 入室行竊
  • 威脅(口頭的、通過電子媒介或書面的)
  • 辱罵
  • 仇恨/暴力
  • 與幫派有關的事件

停學是指學生在規定時間內暫時不得上學或參加學校活動。開除是指無限期取消學生參加教育計劃的資格﹐學校可以說明或不說明學生何時可以重新申請入讀 MCPS。

每一所學校還設有學生必須遵守的本校紀律守則。各學校制定的這些守則包括規則﹐以及對違規行為(例如打架、破壞行為、污言穢語及其它)的處罰。違反規則的學生可被停學並/或喪失參加學校特殊活動(例如實地教學和畢業典禮)的權利。教職員、學生和家長每年都會參與地方學校守則的制定和審查。如果您有興趣參加紀律委員會﹐請與孩子的學校聯繫。

MCPS 絕不容忍霸凌行為。遭受欺凌的學生、或目睹他人遭受欺凌的學生應當立即向教師或學校輔導員報告。擔心霸凌行為的家長應當徵詢輔導員或校長的意見。

家長和學生還應當注意 - 持有"類似"槍枝和武器(例如水槍、玩具槍)也是被禁止的行為﹔如有違犯﹐將被嚴肅處理。

著裝規則

學生應穿著合宜的服裝到校上學。會冒犯他人或擾亂學習的服裝都不是合宜的著裝。不得穿著暗含幫派、毒品、酒精和性內容的服裝。

手機

高中生和初中生可以在學校和學校主辦的活動中攜帶手機或其它便攜式通訊設備﹐但是不可開機或在上課期間使用這些設備。這些通訊設備必須妥善保存﹐不得干擾學習。學校應當提醒學生 - 把通訊設備設在"振動"檔並不等於關閉設備。

除非校長批准了家長的書面請求﹐否則﹐小學生不可在上課日期間在學校攜帶手機或其它便攜式通訊設備。基於安全或醫療方面的考慮﹐學校可做出例外決定。校長可以決定是否需要考慮其它因素。

實地教學

學校有時會安排實地教學活動﹐為學生正在學習的課題提供幫助。學校會通知家長將要舉行的實地教學活動。學生必須在家長簽署許可條後才可參加活動。實地教學活動通常需要繳納少許費用以支付校車的開銷﹐而且學生通常需要自帶午餐。如有需要﹐學校可提供財務補助。

課外活動費

參加體育活動或社團的初中生和高中生每年需要繳納30美元的課外活動費。學校會把付費表郵寄至學生家中。如果您希望了解哪些活動需要支付費用﹐請向孩子的學校洽詢。

您可以郵寄支票、親自前往 Carver Educational Services Center、或登錄以下網站並使用信用卡支付這30美元。年收入總額低於35,000美元的家庭只需繳納15美元的課外活動費﹐可以郵寄支票或親自前往 Carver Educational Services Center 繳費﹔折扣費不可在網上支付。如果您無法支付課外活動費﹐請與體育部主管聯繫。

更多資訊 

圖書媒體中心

過去一直被稱為圖書館的圖書媒體中心收藏有供學生借閱的大量圖書和資料。學生必須於借閱圖章上顯示的到期日之前歸還圖書。圖書媒體中心配有電腦、列印機和其它設備﹐供學生做研究並學習科技技能。多數圖書媒體中心(尤其是初中和高中)在課前和課後都會開放﹐供學生做研究並完成作業。

使用電腦和網絡安全

學生使用個人用戶名和密碼登錄並使用電腦室、圖書媒體中心和教室的電腦。學校會向學生說明電腦的使用規定﹐學生在學年初還會收到一份規定指引。學校電腦只能用於學校的課業﹔不可使用諸如 Myspace 和 Facebook 等網站。

根據兒童網絡保護法(Children's Internet Protection Act)的要求﹐MCPS 設有專門規程﹐屏蔽不適合學生的網絡內容。這些規程包括阻擋學生進入明知包含不適宜內容的網站﹐教導學生如何正確使用網絡、以及對不負責行為所必須承擔的後果。學生在學校使用電腦時﹐會有成人在一旁監督。

Montgomery County 所有的公共圖書館也都配有專門供學生使用的電腦﹔圖書館兒童部的網絡終端配有過濾軟體﹐可以甄別網絡內容。

更多資訊

住址和電話號碼的變更

如果您搬家, 必須通知孩子的學校。讓學校了解您目前的住址和電話號碼極為重要﹐這樣學校才能在發生緊急事件時與您聯絡。隨家人遷至蒙郡他處的學生﹐如果希望繼續就讀原學校﹐他們應當申請變更住家指定學校。如果這種申請只針對當前學年的剩餘時間﹐則可獲得優先考慮。11和12年級學生可以繼續就讀原學校﹐直到畢業為止。

更多資訊

ParentsGetting started in MCPS (the basics) → School Basics

School Basics

High school students in hallway

Important School Information

Parent Guide Video: Communicating with teachers watch  buttonAll schools send home an information packet in the mail during the summer that includes bus routes, school hours, suggested supplies, the school calendar, and other information related to the upcoming school year.

Additionally, look for important information and forms that are sent home during the first few weeks of school and throughout the school year. Some papers require  parent or guardian's signature and must be returned to the school. Examples include emergency information forms, your school's discipline policy, application for free and reduced-price meals, directory information withholding form, and field trip permission forms. Also, check your school's website for news and updates.

Information from your child's school is provided in many ways:

  • Letters and flyers are sent home with students in their backpacks or are mailed to the home.
  • The school's website can be accessed through the Schools page.
  • Principal and PTA newsletters are sent or mailed home; many schools also post the newsletters on the school's website.
  • Many schools have listservs that parents can join to receive announcements about events and share questions and answers about school-related issues.
  • Principals use Connect-ED to send automated telephone messages from the school.

Back-to-School Night

All schools hold Back-to-School Night shortly after the beginning of school. This event gives you a chance to meet your child's principal, teachers, and other school staff and learn about what your child will be learning in school in the coming year.

School Closings/Delayed Openings 

Due to weather conditions or other emergencies, schools may be closed all day, open late, or dismiss early. A delayed opening means that schools open two hours later than scheduled. All buses operate on a delayed schedule and, therefore, the pick-up times are two hours later than normal. An early dismissal means that schools will close 2.5 hours earlier than scheduled. In this case, all buses operate on an early schedule and, therefore, drop-off times are 2.5 hours earlier than normal.

Talk with your child to be sure he or she knows your family's arrangements for an early dismissal. When afternoon and/or evening activities are cancelled in school buildings, extracurricular programs, athletic practices, PTA meetings, and similar events will not be held.

Changes to the school schedule are announced via:

  • e-mail through MCPS QuickNotes
  • Alert MCPS 
  • MCPS Cable TV Channel 34
  • local radio and television stations
  • the MCPS website
  •  Recorded emergency messages, available by calling 301-279-3673

Excused Absences

Parent Guide Video: Attendance watch  button To be successful, students need to attend school regularly. Acceptable reasons for missing school include the following:

  • Illness of student (doctor's note may be required in case of extended absence)
  • Death in immediate family
  • Court summons
  • Religious holiday
  • State emergency
  • Permission from the principal (to visit a college campus, interview for a job, work under certain circumstances)
  • Lack of authorized transportation (the school bus does not come)

Family travel is normally not considered an excused absence, except in unusual circumstances and with approval from the principal.

Whenever your child is absent, you must send a note to the school within three days of your child's return. Otherwise, the absence will be considered unexcused. In middle and high school, attendance is taken in every class.

Absences are recorded on the report card in elementary, middle, and high school. School counselors and pupil personnel workers are available to assist families in situations where students are having difficulty with school attendance. Students are responsible for making up any work missed during an absence, regardless of the reason for the absence; talk with your child's teacher or guidance counselor if you have questions about making up missed work.

Additional Information 

Late Arrival/Tardiness

Students arriving at school after the start of the school day must sign in at the office. To be excused, all late arrivals must be explained in a note signed by a parent. Three unexcused tardies (late arrivals) is equivalent to one unexcused absence in high school. Tardies are recorded on the report card at all grade levels.

Early Pick Up

Only parents and/or persons authorized in writing by parents may pick up a child from school. Parents may designate these other individuals on the emergency information card completed at the beginning of each school year. Parents also may send the school a note authorizing a specific individual to pick up their child. Schools typically contact parents by telephone to confirm such arrangements. Schools may ask the individual to show a photo identification card before releasing a student.

Discipline

Parent Guide Video: School rules watch buttonTo ensure a safe and orderly learning environment, all Montgomery County public schools follow discipline guidelines described in A Student's Guide to Rights and Responsibilities. Certain infractions result in required disciplinary action throughout the school system. Violations of the law will be reported to the Montgomery County Police Department.

Offenses for which students WILL BE recommended for expulsion: 

  • Bomb/facsimile possession or bomb threats
  • Evidence of intent to distribute or distribution of intoxicants
  • Possession of firearms, including starter guns
  • Violent physical attack on a student or staff member
  • Weapons used to cause bodily harm/injury

Offenses with a range of consequences, including suspension or expulsion: 

  • Academic dishonesty or plagiarism
  • Bullying
  • Computer abuse
  • Destruction of public property
  • Extortion
  • Firesetting
  • Hazing
  • Possession of a knife
  • Possessing other weapons
  • Physical attack on a student
  • Physical attack on a staff member
  • Possession or use of intoxicants
  • Sexual harassment
  • Sexual offenses
  • Sexual activity (consensual)
  • Theft
  • Burglary
  • Threat (verbal, electronic, or written)
  • Verbal abuse
  • Hate/violence
  • Gang-related incident

Suspension means your child will not be allowed to attend school or take part in school activities for a specified time. An expulsion is the act of excluding a student from participating in the educational program for an indefinite time, with or without specifying a time for seeking readmission to MCPS.

Each school also has a local disciplinary plan that students are expected to follow. These school-based plans include rules and consequences for violations such as fighting, disruptive behavior, and using obscenities, among others. A student who breaks the rules may be suspended and/or lose the privilege of participating in special school functions such as field trips and graduation ceremonies. Staff, students, and parents are involved in the development and review of local plans each year. Contact your school if you are interested in participating on the discipline committee.

MCPS does not tolerate bullying. Students who are being bullied, or who witness other students being bullied, should immediately report this to their teacher or to the school counselor. Parents with concerns about bullying should consult with the counselor or principal.

Parents and students should also be aware that the possession of "look alike" guns and weapons (e.g., water guns, play weapons) is not permitted and violations are taken very seriously.

Dress Code

Students are expected to wear appropriate clothing to school. Clothing that offends others or disrupts learning is inappropriate. Clothing that includes references to gangs, drugs, alcohol, and sex is not acceptable.

Cell Phones

High school and middle school students may have cell phones or other portable communication devices on school property and at school-sponsored activities, but may not turn them on or use the devices during class time. These devices must be kept out of sight. Students should be reminded that setting the device to "vibrate" is not the same as turning the device off.

Elementary school students are not permitted to have cell phones or other portable communication devices at school during the school day unless a written request from a parent is approved by the principal. Exceptions may be granted based on factors such as safety or medical concerns. Other factors may be considered at the discretion of the principal.

Field trips

Field trips are sometimes taken to support a topic students are studying. Parents are notified of field trips and must sign permission slips in order for their children to participate. A small fee is usually required to cover the cost of the bus transportation for field trips and students usually are asked to bring lunch. Financial assistance is available if needed.

Extracurricular Activity Fee 

Middle and high school students who participate in sports or clubs pay a $30 annual extracurricular activity fee. The form to pay the fee is mailed to the student's home. Check with your school if you have questions about which activities require this fee.

The $30 fee can be paid by mail, in person at the Carver Educational Services Center, or online with a credit card. Families with a gross income below $35,000 qualify for a reduced ECA fee of $15, which can be paid by mail or in person at the Carver Educational Services Center; the online option is not available if paying the reduced fee. If you are not able to pay the activity fee, contact the head of the physical education department.

Additional Information 

Media Centers

Media centers, which used to be called libraries, have a wide collection of books and materials that students can borrow. Students must return books by the due date stamped on the books. Media centers have computers, printers, and other equipment that students use to do research and learn technology skills. Most media centers, especially in middle and high schools, are open before and after school for students to do research and complete assignments.

Computer Use and Internet Safety

Students are given a personal login and password to access the computers in computer labs, the media center, and in classrooms. Computer rules in schools are explained to students and they receive a copy of the guidelines at the beginning of the year. School computers are to be used for school work only; access to sites such as Myspace and Facebook is not allowed.

As required by the Children's Internet Protection Act, MCPS has procedures in place to shield students from inappropriate materials on the Internet. These include blocking access to known sites that contain questionable material and teaching students about the appropriate use of the Internet and the consequences for failing to act responsibly. Students are supervised when using the Internet at school.

All Montgomery County public libraries also have computers that students can use; Internet terminals in the children's areas of the branches are equipped with filtering software to screen content.

Additional Information 

Address and Phone Number Changes

Families who move must notify their child's school. It is important that the school have your current address and phone number so you can be reached in case of an emergency. Students whose families have moved within the county who wish to continue attending their former school should request a change of school assignment. Such requests will be given preference for the remainder of the current school year only. Students in grades 11 and 12 are allowed to stay in their former school through graduation.

Additional Information