Skip to main content

MCPS Student Leaders at Work

MASC FLC MCR Members 11.18.23.jpg

Student leaders from across MCPS high schools attended the United States Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) launch event where appointments of 16 members to the EPA’s first-ever National Environmental Youth Advisory Council were announced. This event included student climate activists from across the nation and addresses from U.S. Representative Maxwell Frost and U.S. Senator Bernie Sanders. This is the first-ever advisory council of young people (ages 16-29) that will regularly convene to discuss the most critical environmental and public health issues facing young people and their environments.

The MCPS student leaders represent the Montgomery County Regional Student Government Association, the MCPS Student Climate Advisory Council, and Compostology, an MCPS student-founded, youth-led nonprofit turning school food waste into compost.

Mia Minus

James Hubert Blake HS

Samanvi Hari

Poolesville HS

Antonio Persi

Bethesda Chevy Chase HS

Lucas Roca

Richard Montgomery HS

Shomit Nazare

Northwest HS


The Association for Safe International Road Travel (ASIRT) and the Montgomery County Regional Student Government Association (MCR) co-hosted the annual PSA contest on road and travel safety. Final awards were acknowledged on Nov. 15.

Emily Muzica

Wootton HS

1st Place

High School

Jolie Cheung

Robert Frost MS

1st Place

Middle School

Aden Blevins

Hallie Wells MS

2nd Place

Middle School (tie)

Everett Kotz

Cabin John MS

2nd Place

Middle School (tie)


The Montgomery County Regional Student Government Association (MCR) and the Seneca Valley High School SGA hosted over 700 student leaders and advisors from across the state for the Maryland Association of Student Councils Fall Leadership Conference on Saturday, Nov. 18.  Also in attendance was Paul Monteiro, Maryland Secretary of Service and Civic Innovation, who represented Governor Wes Moore’s office.