Skip to main content

P.E. Teachers Recognized By SHAPE MD


MCPS teachers have won top honors from the Society of Health and Physical Educators Maryland (SHAPE MD). They were recognized for their work and contributions to health education, physical education (P.E.) and/or student wellness. Brian Baker of Takoma Park Middle School was named Middle School Physical Educator Teacher of the Year.

Shape 2023 Heather Giovenco.jpg

Heather Giovenco of Sherwood High School was named Health Educator of the Year.

Three staff members also received the Simon A. McNeely Award, given to teachers who demonstrate outstanding innovation in teaching health education or P.E., along with active involvement in school and community affairs. They were: Heather N. Bruns, health teacher at William H. Farquhar Middle School; Jamie Unger, P.E. teacher at William Tyler Page Elementary School; and Stacy Azizirad, teacher of adapted P.E., Wheaton High School.

In addition, Daryl Howard, instructional specialist in the Equity Initiatives Unit, was named a Friend of SHAPE. This award is given to school administrators or community leaders who promote, support and advocate for health and physical education programs in school settings.

The Distinguished Advocate for Healthful Living Award was given to Laurie-Anne Sayles, Montgomery County Councilmember. This award honors legislators who promote, support and advocate for health and physical education.