Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

About This School

Search School Web Site

Northwood is part of the Downcounty Consortium (DCC). Students who reside within the DCC boundaries participate in the Choice process. Students and parents rank their preferred high schools for school assignment and are assigned to one of 5 high schools via lottery: Montgomery Blair, Albert Einstein, John F. Kennedy, Northwood or Wheaton. The DCC website describes programs at the five schools and the Choice process.
Northwood offers 4 academies: Academy of Technological, Environmental, and Systems Sciences; Academy of Humanities, Arts, and Media; Academy of Politics, Advocacy, and Law; and the Academy of Musical Theatre. The academies focus on community and diversity and prepare students for a variety of postsecondary options, including the Early College Scholars Program, a partnership with the University of Maryland and Montgomery College. Students explore their interests while building their critical thinking and problem-solving skills.

Map + Directions

Map + Directions

919 University Blvd., West
Silver Spring, MD 20901

Driving Directions


Independent Activity Fund

About the Independent Activity Fund

Independent Activity Funds (IAF) are established to promote the general welfare, education, and morale of students, as well as to finance the recognized extracurricular activities of the student body. Audits are conducted to make sure the funds are being spent in compliance with MCPS policy and to offer suggestions for continuous improvement. IAF reports completed after January 1, 2012 are posted to this site.

View the latest Independent Activity Fund Report for Northwood HS

Most Requested