board room

Board of Education

Meetings

Most Recent Meetings

Thursday, December 03
Tuesday, December 01
  • Swearing-In Ceremony for incoming Board members (CESC) (Note time and location change)
Thursday, November 19

Upcoming Meetings

Thursday, December 10
  • Policy Management Committee (virtual)
Tuesday, December 15
  • Special Board Business Meeting (virtual)
Thursday, December 17
  • Committee on Special Populations (virtual)

Meeting Archives

To catch up on meetings, browse the archives. You'll find a video and agenda to review past Board actions and discussions.

Watch BOE videos
Windows Media icon with Windows Media Player

How to Search for Board of Education Materials

Please Note: As of December 9, 2014 the webcast has been deemed the official meeting minutes. Informational summaries for the meetings are available.

All Board of Education documents, agendas, informational summaries and other meeting materials are in BoardDocs. The search for those materials can be found at this link.

Meeting Information

board room

Where are Meetings Held?

Road Sign IconCarver Educational Services Center (CESC)
850 Hungerford Drive
Rockville, MD 20850
Directions

How Can I Participate?

Get involved, learn how

Meeting Cancellations

Board meetings are cancelled if central offices are closed.

Board of Education Meetings

Meeting Calendar 2020-2021

*Note: Dates are subject to change

Thu, July 02 10:30 AM Swearing-in of Student Board Member

 

 

Tue, July 14 09:00 AM Closed Session (virtual)
12:30 PM Board Business Meeting (virtual) (Note time change)
Thu, July 16 02:00 PM Closed Session (virtual)
Tue, July 28 10:00 AM Closed Session (virtual)
Thu, August 06 01:00 PM Closed Session (virtual)
03:30 PM Board Business Meeting (virtual)
Tue, August 25 09:00 AM Closed Session (virtual)
12:00 PM Board Business Meeting (virtual)
Thu, August 27 06:00 PM Committee on Special Populations (Virtual Forum) (Note time change and format)
Wed, September 02 03:00 PM Strategic Planning Committee (virtual) (Rescheduled to November 16, 2020)
Thu, September 10 09:00 AM Closed Session (virtual)
11:00 AM Board Business Meeting (virtual)
Tue, September 15 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee (virtual)
Thu, September 17 07:00 PM Meeting with SEIU Local 500 (Virtual)

 

Mon, September 21 10:00 AM Fiscal Management Committee (virtual)
Tue, September 22 01:00 PM Closed Session (virtual) (Note time change)
03:30 PM Board Business Meeting (virtual) (Note time change)
Tue, September 29 10:00 AM Communication and Stakeholder Engagement Committee (virtual) (Rescheduled to October 19, 2020)

Mon, October 05 11:00 AM Work Session: Student Discipline, Student Arrest Data, and the SRO Program (virtual)
Tue, October 06 09:00 AM Closed Session (virtual)
11:00 AM Board Business Meeting (virtual)
Thu, October 08 03:00 PM Strategic Planning Committee (virtual)
07:00 PM Meeting with MCEA (virtual) (Postponed)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast

 

Tue, October 13 10:00 AM Committee on Special Populations (virtual) (Rescheduled to November 4, 2020)
Wed, October 14-Thu, October 15 08:00 AM MABE Conference
Mon, October 19 01:30 PM Work Session (virtual) (Note time change)
06:00 PM Communication and Stakeholder Engagement Committee (virtual)
Thu, October 22 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee (virtual)
07:00 PM Meeting with MCAAP (Rescheduled to November 18, 2020)

 

Fri, October 23 12:30 PM Closed Session (virtual)
Mon, October 26 11:00 AM Facilities and Boundaries Presentation and Preliminary Work Session (virtual) (Note date change)
Tue, October 27 01:00 PM Closed Session (virtual) (Note time change)
03:30 PM Board Business Meeting (virtual)(Note time change)
Thu, October 29 10:00 AM Facilities and Boundaries Work Session (virtual)
07:00 PM Meeting with MCCPTA (virtual)

 

Fri, October 30 06:00 PM Distinguished Service to Public Education Awards Presentation (Virtual)
Mon, November 02 06:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Hearing (virtual) (Note date change)
Wed, November 04 04:00 PM Committee on Special Populations (Virtual Forum)
Thu, November 05 06:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Hearing (virtual)
Fri, November 06 01:30 PM Closed Session (virtual)
02:00 PM Work Session (virtual)
Tue, November 10 09:00 AM Closed Session (virtual)
12:00 PM Board Business Meeting (virtual)
Wed, November 11 12:30 PM Work Session (virtual) (Cancelled)
Thu, November 12 10:00 AM Facilities and Boundaries Work Session (virtual)
Mon, November 16 10:00 AM Fiscal Management Committee (virtual)(Cancelled)

03:00 PM Strategic Planning Committee (virtual)
Tue, November 17 01:00 PM Closed Session (virtual)
02:00 PM Work Session (virtual) (Note time change)
06:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Hearing, if needed (virtual) (Note date change)

Wed, November 18 07:00 PM Meeting with MCAAP (Virtual)
Thu, November 19 08:30 AM Meeting with the Montgomery County Delegation (Cancelled)
05:30 PM Facilities and Boundaries Decisions (virtual)
Tue, December 01 10:00 AM Swearing-In Ceremony for incoming Board members (CESC) (Note time and location change)
  • Webcast
Thu, December 03 09:00 AM Election of Officers
09:15 AM Closed Session (virtual)
12:00 PM Board Business Meeting (virtual)
Thu, December 10 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee (virtual)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, December 15 12:00 PM Special Board Business Meeting (virtual)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, December 17 10:00 AM Committee on Special Populations (virtual)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Mon, January 11 06:00 PM Operating Budget Hearing (CESC Auditorium)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, January 12 09:00 AM Closed Session
11:00 AM Board Business Meeting (Note time change)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, January 14 10:00 AM Operating Budget Work Session (CESC, Room 114)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, January 19 06:00 PM Operating Budget Hearing (CESC Auditorium)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, January 21 10:00 AM Operating Budget Work Session (CESC, Room 114)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Sat, January 23-Tue, January 26 08:00 AM NSBA Equity Symposium and NSBA Advocacy Institute
Mon, January 25 10:00 AM Operating Budget Work Session (CESC, Room 114)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Wed, January 27 03:00 PM Strategic Planning Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, January 28 01:00 PM Closed Session (Note time change)
03:30 PM Board Business Meeting (Note time change)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, February 02 10:00 AM Fiscal Management Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, February 04 07:00 PM Kennedy Cluster Meeting
  • Agenda
*Meeting not televised
Tue, February 09 09:00 AM Closed Session
11:00 AM Board Business Meeting -Tentative Adoption of Recommended Operating Budget
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, February 11 10:00 AM Committee on Special Populations
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, February 16 10:00 AM Communication and Stakeholder Engagement Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, February 18 07:00 PM Magruder Cluster Meeting
  • Agenda
*Meeting not televised
Tue, February 23 01:00 PM Closed Session (Note time change)
03:30 PM Board Business Meeting (Including presentation on Facilities and Boundaries) (Note time change)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, February 25 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, March 02 07:00 PM Wootton Cluster Meeting
  • Agenda
*Meeting not televised
Tue, March 09 06:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Hearing (CESC Auditorium)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, March 11 09:00 AM Closed Session
11:00 AM Board Business Meeting
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, March 16 10:00 AM Facilities and Boundaries Work Session (CESC, Room 114)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, March 18 03:00 PM Strategic Planning Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Mon, March 22 06:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Hearing (CESC Auditorium)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, March 23 01:00 PM Closed Session (Note time change)
03:30 PM Board Business Meeting - Facilities and Boundaries Decisions (Note time change)
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, April 08 10:00 AM Committee on Special Populations
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Sat, April 10-Mon, April 12 08:00 AM NSBA Annual Conference
Thu, April 15 10:00 AM Communication and Stakeholder Engagement Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
07:00 PM Churchill Cluster Meeting
  • Agenda
*meeting not televised
Tue, April 20 09:00 AM Closed Session
12:00 PM Board Business Meeting
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, April 22 07:00 PM Rockville Cluster Meeting
  • Agenda
  *Meeting not televised
Tue, April 27 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Wed, May 05 10:00 AM Fiscal Management Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, May 06 07:00 PM Quince Orchard Cluster Meeting
  • Agenda
*Meeting not televised
Tue, May 11 09:00 AM Closed Session
11:00 AM Board Business Meeting
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Wed, May 12 06:00 PM Distinguished Service Awards *Meeting not televised
Tue, May 18 03:00 PM Strategic Planning Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, May 20 07:00 PM Northwood Cluster Meeting
  • Agenda
*Meeting not televised
Tue, May 25 03:00 PM Closed Session
05:30 PM Board Business Meeting
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, June 10 09:00 AM Closed Session
11:00 AM Board Business Meeting
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, June 17 10:00 AM Communication and Stakeholder Engagement Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Mon, June 21 10:00 AM Fiscal Management Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, June 29 03:00 PM Closed Session
05:30 PM Board Business Meeting
  • Agenda
  • Webcast