board room

Board of Education

Meetings

Most Recent Meetings

Thursday, April 02
  • NSBA Annual Conference (Cancelled)
Monday, March 23
Wednesday, March 18
  • Facilities and Boundaries Hearing (If Needed)

Upcoming Meetings

Tuesday, April 21
Thursday, April 23
  • Blake Cluster Meeting (Cancelled)
Tuesday, April 28
  • Committee on Special Populations

Meeting Archives

To catch up on meetings, browse the archives. You'll find a video and agenda to review past Board actions and discussions.

Watch BOE videos
Windows Media icon with Windows Media Player

How to Search for Board of Education Materials

Please Note: As of December 9, 2014 the webcast has been deemed the official meeting minutes. Informational summaries for the meetings are available.

All Board of Education documents, agendas, informational summaries and other meeting materials are in BoardDocs. The search for those materials can be found at this link.

Meeting Information

board room

Where are Meetings Held?

Road Sign IconCarver Educational Services Center (CESC)
850 Hungerford Drive
Rockville, MD 20850
Directions

How Can I Participate?

Get involved, learn how

Meeting Cancellations

Board meetings are cancelled if central offices are closed.

Board of Education Meetings

Meeting Calendar 2019-2020

Mon, July 08 07:00 PM Swearing-in of Student Board Member (CESC Board Room)
Thu, July 11 09:00 AM Closed Session
11:00 AM Day Business Meeting
Mon, July 29 03:00 PM Closed Session (Note Time Change)
05:30 PM Evening Business Meeting
Thu, August 29 09:00 AM Closed Session
12:00 PM Business Meeting
Tue, September 10 10:00 AM Closed Session (Note time change)
12:00 PM Day Business Meeting (Note time change)
Thu, September 12 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee
Mon, September 16 10:00 AM Fiscal Management Committee
Tue, September 17 10:00 AM Communication and Stakeholder Engagement Committee
Thu, September 19 07:00 PM Meeting with SEIU Local 500 (CESC Auditorium)

*Meeting not televised

Mon, September 23 03:00 PM Closed Session (Note time change)
05:30 PM Evening Business Meeting
Thu, September 26-Sat, September 28 08:00 AM NSBA CUBE Conference
Wed, October 02-Fri, October 04 08:00 AM MABE Conference
Tue, October 08 10:00 AM Closed Session (Note time change)
12:00 PM Day Business Meeting (Note time change)
Thu, October 10 10:00 AM Committee on Special Populations
07:00 PM Meeting with MCEA (CESC Auditorium)

*Meeting not televised

Tue, October 15 10:00 AM Communication and Stakeholder Engagement Committee
Wed, October 16 06:15 PM Meeting with MCAAP (30 West Gude Dr., Suite 100, Rockville) (Note Time Change)

*Meeting not televised

Tue, October 22 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee
Wed, October 23 03:00 PM Strategic Planning Committee
05:00 PM Board Work Session: Board Operational Logistics and Processes (CESC, Room 120)
     *Meeting not televised
07:00 PM Meeting with MCCPTA (CESC Auditorium)

*Meeting not televised

Mon, October 28 12:30 PM Closed Session (Note time change)
02:30 PM Evening Business Meeting (including presentation of CIP and preliminary work session) (Note time change)
Wed, October 30 10:00 AM Fiscal Management Committee Meeting (Rescheduled to December 12, 2019)
07:00 PM Student Town Hall with County Council
  • * Broadcast live on County Cable Montgomery (Comcast - 996, RCN - 1056, Verizon - 30) 
Thu, October 31 10:00 AM Facilities and Boundaries Work Session (CESC, Room 114) (Rescheduled to November 6, 2019)
Mon, November 04 10:00 AM Facilities and Boundaries Work Session (CESC, Room 114)
Tue, November 05 08:30 AM Meeting with Montgomery County Delegation (CESC Auditorium)

 

 

*Meeting not televised 

06:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Hearing (CESC Auditorium)
Wed, November 06 10:00 AM Facilities and Boundaries Work Session (CESC, Room 114) (Cancelled)
Thu, November 07 06:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries; and Forest Knolls, Montgomery Knolls, and Pine Crest Boundary Study Hearing (CESC Auditorium)
Tue, November 12 09:00 AM Closed Session
10:00 AM Day Business Meeting (Note time change)
Wed, November 13 06:00 PM Clarksburg, Northwest, and Seneca Valley Facilities and Boundary Study Hearing (CESC Auditorium)
Mon, November 18 06:00 PM Districtwide Boundary Analysis Hearing (CESC Auditorium)
Tue, November 19 02:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Work Session (CESC, Room 114)
Wed, November 20 10:00 AM Facilities and Boundaries Work Session (Rescheduled to November 19, 2019)
06:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Hearing (If alternatives are offered on November 19, 2019) (Rescheduled to November 25, 2019)
Mon, November 25 06:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Hearing, if alternatives are offered on November 19 (Rescheduled from November 20, 2019) (CESC Auditorium)
Tue, November 26 03:00 PM Closed Session
05:30 PM Facilities and Boundaries Decisions
Tue, December 03 09:00 AM Election of Officers
09:10 AM Closed Session
12:00 PM Day Business Meeting (Note time change)
Thu, December 05 07:00 PM Meeting with Student Groups

*Meeting not televised

Thu, December 12 10:00 AM Fiscal Management Committee Meeting
Mon, December 16 10:30 AM Closed Session (Note time change)
Thu, December 19 04:00 PM Policy Management Committee
Mon, January 06 10:00 AM Committee on Special Populations (Cancelled)
Tue, January 07 03:00 PM Strategic Planning Committee (Rescheduled to February 6, 2020)
Thu, January 09 09:00 AM Closed Session
11:00 AM Day Business Meeting
Mon, January 13 06:00 PM Operating Budget Hearing (CESC, Auditorium)
Wed, January 15 06:00 PM Operating Budget Hearing (CESC, Auditorium)
Tue, January 21 10:00 AM Fiscal Management Committee Meeting (Canceled)
Wed, January 22 12:00 PM Closed Session
01:00 PM Operating Budget Work Session (CESC, Room 114)
Mon, January 27 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee (Rescheduled to February 18, 2020)
Tue, January 28 12:00 PM Closed Session
12:30 PM Operating Budget Work Session (CESC, Room 114)
Thu, January 30 12:00 PM Joint Meeting with Montgomery County Planning Board
Sun, February 02-Tue, February 04 08:00 AM NSBA Advocacy Institute
Tue, February 04 10:00 AM Committee on Special Populations
Wed, February 05 07:00 PM Springbrook Cluster Meeting

*Meeting not televised

Thu, February 06 11:30 AM Closed Session (Note time change)
04:00 PM Strategic Planning Committee (Note time change)
Mon, February 10 09:00 AM Closed Session
11:00 AM Day Business Meeting - Tentative Adoption of Recommended Operating Budget
Tue, February 18 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee

 

 

Thu, February 20 07:00 PM Blair Cluster Meeting

*Meeting not televised

Mon, February 24 02:00 PM Closed Session (Note time change)
05:00 PM Evening Business Meeting (Please Note Time Change)
Thu, February 27 01:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Presentation and Preliminary Work Session (Note time change)
Mon, March 02 10:00 AM Fiscal Management Committee
Tue, March 03 07:00 PM Wheaton Cluster Meeting

*Meeting not televised

Wed, March 04 01:00 PM Communication and Stakeholder Engagement Committee (Rescheduled to March 11, 2020)
Thu, March 05 06:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Hearing (CESC Auditorium)
Mon, March 09 03:00 PM Strategic Planning Committee
Tue, March 10 09:00 AM Closed Session
11:00 AM Day Business Meeting
Wed, March 11 10:00 AM Communication and Stakeholder Engagement Committee

 

 

Thu, March 12 12:30 PM Facilities and Boundaries Work Session (CESC, Room 114)
Mon, March 16 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee (Postponed)

 

Tue, March 17 08:30 AM Closed Session (Cancelled)
09:30 AM Special Board Meeting (Cancelled)
Wed, March 18 06:00 PM Facilities and Boundaries Hearing (If Needed)
Mon, March 23 03:00 PM Closed Session (Cancelled)
03:00 PM Board Meeting (virtual)
Thu, April 02-Mon, April 06 08:00 AM NSBA Annual Conference (Cancelled)
Tue, April 21 09:00 AM Closed Session
11:00 AM Day Business Meeting
Thu, April 23 07:00 PM Blake Cluster Meeting (Cancelled)
Tue, April 28 10:00 AM Committee on Special Populations
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, April 30 07:00 PM Gaithersburg Cluster Meeting (Cancelled)

Mon, May 04 10:00 AM Fiscal Management Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, May 05 03:00 PM Policy Management Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, May 07 06:00 PM Distinguished Service Awards (Postponed)
Mon, May 11 03:00 PM Strategic Planning Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Tue, May 12 09:00 AM Closed Session
11:00 AM Day Business Meeting
Thu, May 14 07:00 PM Poolesville Cluster Meeting (Cancelled)

Thu, May 28 03:00 PM Closed Session (Note time change)
05:30 PM Evening Business Meeting
Thu, June 11 09:00 AM Closed Session
11:00 AM Day Business Meeting
Mon, June 22 10:00 AM Communication and Stakeholder Engagement Committee
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Thu, June 25 10:00 AM Committee on Special Populations
  • Agenda
  • Webcast
Mon, June 29 03:00 PM Closed Session (Note time change)
05:30 PM Evening Business Meeting