Montgomery County Public Schools - Parents

 

MCPS 家長指南幼前班到高中 →初中

初中

中學生在演奏樂器

歡迎您來到初中: 6-8年級

家長指南錄影片: 點擊按鍵, 收看歡迎來到初中初中的校舍規模更大﹐孩子將在其中學習新科目、結識新同學、擁有更多的自由、並承擔更多的責任。在初中階段﹐所有的科目課(而不僅是幾門課)都將在不同的教室進行。孩子對初中的要求了解越多﹐就越容易適應。

課程表將在暑假期間寄給學生。您和孩子收到課程表後應當立即仔細閱讀 — 這樣做很重要。如果您希望變更課程表﹐請在開學前與孩子學校的輔導員或領隊教師聯繫。

所有初中都會舉辦6年級認識環境說明會。這次說明會通常安排在暑期中的某幾天舉行﹐學生可以挑選他們希望參加的活動日期。在說明會活動中﹐孩子將有機會與教師和學校的其他工作人員會面、參觀學校並結識同學。

初中還將在開學前的週四為即將升入6年級的學生和其他中學新生舉辦一場認識環境說明會。這次半天的說明會讓學生有機會試乘校車﹐並熟悉課程時間表和教師。

做好大學入學準備的七把鑰匙

MCPS 初中的成功鑰匙

這條取得七把鑰匙、邁向大學的途徑將在初中繼續展開。為了不致偏離這條大學之路﹐您的孩子應當:

  • 在6-8年級期間參加的馬里蘭州學校評鑑測驗(Maryland School Assessment)的閱讀部分中取得''高階''成績
  • 在8年級之前修完代數1課程並取得"C"或更好的成績

更多資訊

初中的過渡

保持對話

確保孩子能夠順利通過初中過渡期的最佳方法之一就是與他們談論學校發生的事。您可以嘗試使用以下這些"開場白"讓對話一直進行下去。

  • 午餐時的情況怎樣?
  • 說一下你們如何輪換教室。
  • 你如何決定應當從儲物櫃中拿哪些東西?
  • 如果你遇到麻煩﹐你會在校舍裡向誰求助?

初中的普通一天

家長指南: 點擊按鍵, 收看初中的普通一天各年級學生被分成小組。小組領隊教師將與組成團隊的其他教師、輔導員和管理人員密切合作。這種小組的結構讓學生更容易與其他同學溝通﹐並且培養與教師之間的關係。

多數初中早上7:55上學、下午2:40放學。學校可選擇以下兩種排課方式: 一天七個課時或區節式課程表。在一天七個課時的排課形式中﹐學生一整週的課程表安排完全相同﹐每節課的上課時間大約為45分鐘。如果學校採用區節式課程表﹐一節課的上課時間則可能會長達90分鐘﹐而且學生在一週內每天會上不同的課。您孩子的學校會為您說明課程表安排的有關資訊。

在初中﹐孩子會有兩個指定使用的儲物櫃 — 一個位於走廊的儲物櫃和一個上體育課(PE)時使用的儲物櫃。位於走廊的儲物櫃用來存放書包、大衣、書本和其它文具用品。學生在上課日期間必須把書包存放在儲物櫃中 — 書包不可帶進教室。學生上體育課時必須換穿合適的運動服﹔PE 儲物櫃在體育課期間可以用來存放孩子的衣物和其它用品。

有些初中設有輔導課時。這些課時會因學校而有所不同﹐因此﹐活動也會不同。視各自學校對這一課時的安排﹐學生可以利用這段時間整理資料、從事支持學習的活動、談論作業、補考、或在某個科目上獲得額外幫助。

學生在初中的家庭作業會比小學多。6-8年級的學生平均每晚有60分鐘的家庭作業﹐每週四至五次。教師通常要求學生使用行事曆或作業簿完成作業。

學生服務學習(Student Service Learning)

所有學生都需要參加學生服務學習(SSL)活動才能從高中畢業。從2011屆的畢業班開始﹐學生必須完成75個小時的 SSL 時數。每一所初中和高中都配有一名指定的 SSL 協調員﹐他們可以幫助學生達到這項要求。學生從5年級結束後的暑期即可以開始積累 SSL 時數。

更多資訊

教學計劃

家長指南錄影片: 點擊按鍵, 收看初中的學業課程所有初中都提供閱讀/英語語言藝術、數學、科學、社會學、體育、健康教育、藝術和音樂課程。各所學校還會提供各種不同的選修課﹐讓學生可以學習他們感興趣的內容。這些課程包括管樂隊、弦樂隊、合唱團、藝術、戲劇、以及職業和科技教育。

初中生可以修讀能夠獲得高中學分的課程。這些課程包括代數、幾何和外語課。請注意: 學生必須參加期末考試才能在正式成績單中獲得學分。選讀高中評鑑測驗(High School Assessment, HSA)必修課的學生必須在修完這門課時接受 HSA 考試。請注意﹐高中課程的成績將計入學生的正式成績單中。

所有6級學生都將在三個戶外教育中心中的一個中心參加三天/兩夜的學習。學生由教師和義工陪同參加。這項計劃幫助學生學習大自然的不同層面﹐包括森林、田野、河流和池塘。學生還將學習地方史、野生動植物、天文、以及各中心的特色。學生支付的費用將包含食物、住宿、交通和保險。有需要的學生可以獲得財務補助。

課外活動、體育和特殊活動

家長指南錄影片: 點擊按鍵, 收看初中的課外活動所有初中都開辦放學後進行的課外活動計劃。活動包括學習/家庭作業俱樂部、校刊俱樂部、年鑑俱樂部、數學隊、學生政府協會(SGA)、以及各種表演團體。

所有初中都為7年級和8年級的男女生提供校內體育計劃。如果學生希望參加體育活動﹐他們必須提交體檢表、家長同意書、和在必要時乘坐校車同意書。體檢表要求學生接受由執業醫師進行的身體檢查。如果您需要我們協助安排孩子的體檢﹐請聯繫學校的護士助理。

希望參加課外或體育活動的學生必須保持2.0的評分期平均分﹐並且在前一個評分期中沒有一個以上的不及格分數。如果學生沒有達到這些學業要求﹐他們則不符合參加課外活動(包括體育活動)的資格。

初中會通過各種方式來表彰學生所取得的優異成績﹐包括榮譽榜和表揚大會。由學生進行的演出 (例如合唱、樂隊音樂會和戲劇表演) 也是初中生活的一部分﹐參加這些活動讓家長和其他家人可以與學校保持聯繫。

在製作學校年鑑時需要為學生每年拍照。有些初中也使用這些照片作為學生證上的照片。

為高中做準備

家長指南錄影片: 點擊按鍵, 收看向高中過渡當孩子升入8年級時﹐您會陸續收到一些有關高中的資訊。您還可以參加學校舉行的其它會議﹐了解更多過渡到高中的情況﹐以及如何幫助孩子做好準備以迎接新的體驗。請查看孩子初中寄發的資訊﹐並參訪孩子高中的網站﹐了解即將舉行的活動和為高中新生及家長提供的各種學習機會。

高中將邀請8年級學生的家長參加訂於一月份或二月份在孩子高中舉行的會議。在這次會議中﹐學校管理人員和輔導員將介紹高中計劃的一般性資訊和主要工作人員﹐並引導學生和家長參觀學校。

在8年級冬季時﹐高中輔導員還會拜訪直屬初中﹐並與8年級學生談論高中生活。學生會收到一份高中課程公告(High School Course Bulletin)﹐其中將介紹畢業要求和高中提供的眾多課程。高中課程公告也會在網站上公佈。學生將逐漸熟悉用來制訂今後四年學業計劃的工作簿﹐並了解指導他們進行這項活動的規程。

更多資訊

ParentsPrekindergarten to High School → Middle School

Middle School

Secondary students playing musical instruments

Welcome to Middle School: Grades 6–8

Parent Guide Video: Welcome to MS watch buttonIn middle school, your child will be in a larger building where he or she will learn new subjects, meet new classmates, have more freedom, and take on more responsibility. This is probably the first time students will be changing classes for all subject periods, not just for a few classes. The more your child knows about what to expect in middle school, the easier the transition will be.

Students receive their class schedule during the summer. It is important for you and your child to review this schedule as soon as you receive it. If you want to make changes to the schedule, contact your child's counselor or team leader before the start of school.

All middle schools conduct 6th grade orientation. This orientation typically is scheduled on several dates in the summer and students may choose when they want to attend. During orientation, your child will have the opportunity to meet teachers and other school staff, take a tour of the school, and meet classmates.

An additional orientation is held for incoming sixth graders and other new secondary students on the Thursday before the start of school. This half-day orientation gives students a chance to take a test run on their bus route and become acquainted with their class schedule and teachers.

Seven Keys to College Readiness

MCPS Middle School Keys to Success 

The pathway to college with the 7 Keys continues in middle school. To stay on the pathway for college, your child should:

  • Score 'advanced' in reading on the Maryland School Assessment in Grades 6-8
  • Complete Algebra 1 by Grade 8 with a "C" or higher

Additional Information  

Middle School Transition

Get the Conversation Going 

One of the best ways to make sure your child is successfully making the transition to middle school is to talk about what is happening in school. Try some of these "sentence starters" to get the conversation going.

  • What is lunchtime like?
  • Describe how you change classes.
  • How do you decide what to take with you when you stop at your locker?
  • Who would you talk to in your school building if you had a problem?
     

The Typical Middle School Day 

Parent Guide Video: MS A Typical Day watch buttonStudents in each grade level are divided into teams. A team leader works closely with the teachers, counselor, and administrator who complete the team. The team structure makes it easier for students to connect with their classmates and develop a rapport with their teachers.

Most middle schools begin at 7:55 a.m. and dismiss at 2:40 p.m. Schools have two options for scheduling classes: the seven period day or block scheduling. In the seven period day format, students have the same class schedule for the week and classes are approximately 45 minutes long. If your school uses block scheduling, class periods could be up to 90 minutes long, and students have different classes on different days of the week. Your child's school will provide information about how classes are scheduled.

In middle school, your child will be assigned two lockers-a hall locker and a physical education (PE) locker. The hall locker is used to store backpacks, coats, books, and other supplies. Students must keep their backpacks in their lockers during the school day-backpacks are not permitted in classrooms. Students are required to change into appropriate athletic clothing for physical education classes; PE lockers hold your child's clothes and other possessions during PE class.

Some middle schools have advisory periods. These periods vary from school to school, so activities may differ. Depending on how your school structures this period, students may use this time to organize materials, work on activities that support student learning, talk about assignments, make up tests and quizzes, or get extra help with a subject.

Students can expect more homework in middle school than they were assigned in elementary school. In Grades 6-8, homework averages 60 minutes per night, four to five times per week. Teachers generally require students to write their homework assignments in their planners or assignment books.

Student Service Learning 

All students need to participate in student service learning (SSL) activities to graduate from high school. Starting with the graduating Class of 2011, 75 SSL hours will be required. An SSL coordinator is assigned to each middle and high school to help students meet the requirement. Students may begin to earn SSL hours the summer after completing Grade 5.

Additional Information 

Instructional Program 

Parent Guide Video - MS Academics and Coursework watch buttonAll middle schools offer courses in reading/English language arts, math, science, social studies, physical education, health education, art, and music. A variety of elective courses, which vary from school to school, also are available for students to pursue specific areas of interest. These courses may include band, orchestra, chorus, art, theater, and career and technology education.

Middle school students can take some courses for high school credit. These courses include algebra, geometry, and foreign language classes. Note: students must take the final exam in order to receive credit on their official transcript. Students taking high school courses requiring a High School Assessment (HSA) must take the HSA upon completion of the course. Note that the grades for high school courses go on the studentÕs official transcript.

All 6th grade students spend three days and two nights at one of three outdoor education centers. Students are accompanied by teachers and volunteers. This program supports learning about different aspects of nature, including forest, field, stream, and pond. Students also learn about local history, wildlife, astronomy, and aspects unique to each site. A fee covers food, lodging, transportation, and insurance. Financial assistance is available to students if needed.

Extracurricular Activities, Sports, and Special Events 

Parent Guide Video - MS Extracurricular Activities watch buttonAll middle schools have an afterschool extracurricular activities program. Activities may include study/homework club, newspaper club, yearbook club, math team, Student Government Association (SGA), and performance groups.

All middle schools offer an intramural sports program for girls and boys in Grades 7 and 8. To participate in athletics, students are required to submit a medical evaluation form, a parent permission form, and a transportation permission form, if necessary. The medical evaluation form requires students to have a physical examination by a medical practitioner. If you need assistance arranging for your child to have a physical examination, contact the school's health technician.

Students who wish to participate in extracurricular activities or sports must maintain a 2.0 marking period average, with not more than one failing grade in the previous marking period. If these requirements are not met, the student is academically ineligible to participate in extracurricular activities, including sports.

Middle schools recognize students for outstanding achievement in a variety of ways, including honor roll and recognition assemblies. Student performances such as choral and band concerts and plays are also a part of the middle school experience, and attending these events is a great way for parents and families to stay connected with the school community.

Student photos are taken each year for the school yearbook. Some middle schools also use these photos to issue school ID cards.

Get Ready for High School

Parent Guide Video: Moving on to High School watch buttonWhen your child is in 8th grade, you will begin to receive information about high school. There also will be meetings for you to attend to learn more about the transition from middle school and how to help to prepare your child for this new experience. Look for information from your child's middle school and visit your high school's website for announcements about upcoming events and opportunities for incoming students and their parents.

In January or February, parents of Grade 8 students are invited to attend a meeting at their student's high school. At this meeting, administrators and school counselors provide general information about the high school program, introduce key staff, and provide tours of the school.

Also in the winter of Grade 8, high school counselors visit middle schools to talk with 8th grade students about what to expect in high school. Students receive the High School Course Bulletin, which includes information on graduation requirements and the wide variety of courses offered in high school. The High School Course Bulletin is available online. Students become familiar with the worksheet used to develop their academic programs for the next four years and learn about the process that will guide them through this activity.

Additional Information 

Click here to log in