Board of Education Hears Report on Readiness for Opening Schools; Recommends Redistricting Plan

August 24, 2011

The Montgomery County Board of Education held its regular business meeting on Wednesday, August 24, 2011, in the Board Meeting Room of the Carver Educational Services Center in Rockville. You can view the agenda for the meeting online, and, in the near future, minutes and video of this meeting will also be posted on the Board website. Below is a brief summary of the meeting: 

Recognition of the Montgomery County Public Schools Educational Foundation, Inc.

The Board of Education, in a 7-0 vote, approved a resolution to recognize the Montgomery County Public Schools Educational Foundation, Inc. The Foundation was created to provide supplemental financial resources to enhance academic enrichment opportunities for Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) students. The Foundation supports schools, students and teachers by providing scholarship funds for MCPS students, funds for academic enrichment opportunities for students and staff, and grants to MCPS schools for after-school technology programs and instruction. Since its inception, the Foundation has awarded more than $1.325 million in scholarships.

Readiness for Opening Schools

MCPS staff presented a video, titled “50 Days” which highlighted the numerous activities and detailed planning that has taken place  over the summer to prepare for the opening of the 2011-2012 school year. Among the highlights: Modernizations on two schools was finished—Cabin John Middle School and Farmland Elementary School—along with the addition of 105 classrooms at eight elementary schools. Staff also informed the Board that enrollment for the 2011-2012 school year is expected to be nearly 147,000 students.

Board of Education Redistricting Plan

The Board, by a unanimous vote of members present, approved a resolution to approve Option 3 as its preferred redistricting plan. This plan will be submitted to the county’s state legislative delegation for incorporation into a local bill to be introduced in the next session of the Maryland General Assembly. According to Section3-901(a)(2) of the Education Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland, the boundaries of the five Board of Education districts in Montgomery County must be redrawn after each decennial census to bring the districts into conformance with the requirement that “each district shall be substantially equal in population.”

Administrative Appointments

The Board of Education approved the following administrative appointments:

Kara B. Trenkamp, currently instructional specialist, Office of the Chief Technology Officer, as supervisor, Teaching and Learning Initiatives, Office of the Chief Technology Office.

Anne Taylor, currently resource teacher, John F. Kennedy High School, as coordinator, Special Initiatives, Department of Enriched and Innovative Programs, Office of Curriculum and Instructional Programs.

About the Board of Education

Montgomery County Board of Education: Mr. Christopher S.Barclay, president; Ms. Shirley Brandman, vice president. Members: Ms. Laura Berthiaume, Dr. Judy Docca, Mr. Michael Durso, Mr. Phil Kauffman, Ms. Patricia O’Neill, and Mr. Alan Xie, student member. Dr. Joshua P. Starr, superintendent and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617. The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.


<<Back to browse