Skip to main content

Board of Education → Distinguished Service Awards

The Board of Education Annual Distinguished Service Awards


DSA Award Winners 2023

About the Award

The Montgomery County Board of Education established the Awards for Distinguished Service to Public Education in 1997 to recognize and show appreciation to individuals, groups, and businesses that have made exemplary contributions to public education in Montgomery County.


Awards will be made in each of the following categories:

  • Individual Pioneer
  • Community Individual (which can include students)
  • Community Group
  • Business
  • Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) Staff
  • School Service Volunteer

Who Can Be Nominated? (Eligibility)

The "Individual Pioneer" award is presented to individuals who, although they may not be currently active, have made extraordinary contributions to public education in the past.  The contributions must have had a profound effect on MCPS over a sustained period of time.

The other awards go to an individual (including MCPS students), group, or organizations that have, within the past three years, provided sustained service, support, and commitment to public education, as demonstrated by:

  • an outstanding contribution of time and expertise to MCPS programs
  • development and/or implementation of an exemplary program or project, or
  • a contribution that results in systemwide benefit.

Who Can Submit a Nomination?

Any person or group may submit nominations. Nominations for the awards are sought from the general community as well as community organizations, businesses, the superintendent of schools, and members of the Montgomery County Board of Education.

Nomination Forms

Nominations for the 2024 awards are now closed. 

2024 Awardees

Below is the list of awardees for the 27th Annual Distinguished Service Awards.  The event will be held on May 7, 2024.  

Community Individual

  • Evelyn Chung
  • Farzad Makarehchi
  • Melissa Regan            

Community Group



  •    CSIOS Corporation
  •    Visit Montgomery

MCPS Staff

  •    Ray Gray
  •    E. Kathy Green
  •    Muncha Leah Rodriguez
  •    Julie Sanders

School Service Volunteer

  •     OASIS Tutoring
  •     SEEDS


Previous Award Winners 

View award winners from 1997 through 2023

Updated April 12, 2024