Board Continues Discussion on FY 14 Operating Budget Interests; Appoints New Chief Engagement and Partnership Officer

July 31, 2012
The Montgomery County Board of Education met on Monday, July 30, 2012, at the Carver Educational Services Center, 850 Hungerford Drive in Rockville. Among other items, the Board discussed its budgetary interests for FY 2014 and made five administrative appointments. The agenda for the meeting, with links to related materials, can be viewed on the Board of Education website.

Operating Budget Interests for Fiscal Year 2014
The Board continued the discussion, begun on July 17, about its operating budget interests for Fiscal Year 2014. This is the second year that the Board has shared its budgetary interests with Dr. Starr as he begins the process of developing an operating budget recommendation for next fiscal year. The Board will continue this discussion at a future meeting. Dr. Starr will present his FY 2014 Operating Budget recommendation to the Board in December.

The Board of Education approved the following administrative appointments:

Timothy B. Warner, currently community liaison for the African American and faith communities, Montgomery County Executive’s Office of Community Partnerships, as Chief Engagement and Partnership Officer, Office of the Deputy Superintendent of Teaching, Learning, and Programs

Michael D. Bayewitz, currently principal, Broad Acres Elementary School, as director of school performance, Office of School Support and Improvement

Karin Tulchinsky Cohen, currently special education teacher, High Road Academy, as coordinator, special initiatives, Department of Instructional Programs

Tina W. Shrewsbury, currently principal intern, Luxmanor Elementary School, as principal, Waters Landing Elementary School

Peter A. Daddone, currently signature program coordinator, James Hubert Blake High School, as magnet coordinator, Argyle Magnet Middle School for Digital Design and Development

About the Board of Education
The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.

Montgomery County Board of Education: Ms. Shirley Brandman, president; Mr. Christopher Barclay, vice president. Members: Ms. Laura Berthiaume, Dr. Judy Docca, Mr. Michael Durso, Mr. Phil Kauffman, Ms. Patricia O’Neill, and Mr. John Mannes, student member. Dr. Joshua P. Starr, superintendent and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617.

<<Back to browse