Nine MCPS Students Win Corporate-Sponsored National Merit Scholarships

April 19, 2012
Nine Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) seniors from six high schools have been awarded corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships financed by corporations, company foundations and other business organizations.

The students are among 24 high school seniors in Maryland and 1,000 high school seniors nationwide to be selected in the first group of winners in the 57
th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The scholars were selected from a pool of 16,000 students who advanced to the finalist level in the National Merit Scholarship competition and met the criteria of their scholarship sponsors.

Corporate sponsors provide National Merit Scholarships for finalists who are children of their employees, who reside in the communities they serve, or who plan to pursue college majors and careers the sponsor wishes to support.

The MCPS winners, their intended fields of study and sponsors are:

Montgomery Blair High School
Frederic Koehler, computer science, CSC
Sherman K. Leung, biology, CACI

Winston Churchill High School
Cindy B. Zheng, medicine, The MITRE Corporation

Richard Montgomery High School
Aaron B. Berman, international relations, Mary E. Beyerle Trust
Roger R. Wang, engineering, Northrop Grumman

Springbrook High School
Nicole A. Mair, medicine, General Dynamics

Walt Whitman High School
Jacob Lampl Taswell, science, Mary E. Beyerle Trust

Walter Johnson High School
Caldwell S. Clark, engineering, Battelle
Russell L. Horowitz, mathematics, Battelle

Most awards are renewable for up to four years of college undergraduate study and provide yearly stipends that range from $500 to $10,000 per year. Some provide a single payment of $2,500 and $5,000. Winners can use their awards at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university of their choice.

Additional National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced later this year.

National Merit Scholarship

<<Back to browse