Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

EMERGENCY MESSAGE: 3/20/2018 at 8:42 PM -- Refresh page to update message

Montgomery County Public Schools are closed Wednesday March 21, 2018 due to emergency weather conditions. All school and community activities in school buildings also are canceled. All administrative offices are open. Day care programs in school buildings may remain open as scheduled. MCPS will reevaluate this decision by 5:00 a.m. to determine if closure of offices is necessary.

MENSAJES DE EMERGENCIA: 3/20/2018, 8:42 PM -- Refresque la página para actualizar mensaje

Las Escuelas Públicas del Condado de Montgomery (MCPS) permanecerán cerradas el miércoles, 21 de marzo de 2018 debido a las condiciones del tiempo. Todas las actividades escolares y comunitarias en los edificios escolares quedan canceladas. Las oficinas administrativas abrirán en horario regular. Los programas de cuidado infantil en los edificios escolares podrán operar en horario regular. MCPS reevaluará esta decisión a las 5:00 a.m. para determinar si es necesario cerras las oficinas administrativas.

See Emergency Information


Eighteen MCPS Students Named Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholars

June 19, 2009
Eighteen Montgomery County Public Schools students are among 143 Maryland students named Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholars for 2009 by the Maryland State Department of Education.

Each honoree receives a four-year scholarship worth up to $1,500 per year, to be used for undergraduate study at any institution of higher education based on cost of attendance. The scholars were chosen from more than 600 nominees from across the state.

The Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship Program is designed to promote student excellence and achievement. The program recognizes exceptionally able students who show promise of continued excellence as they pursue higher education. Principals at public and private schools were invited to nominate students from the top 1 percent of their graduating classes for this prestigious award.

MCPS student winners and their high schools are:

Montgomery Blair: Sahar Shahamatdar
James Hubert Blake: Matthew Stevens
Winston Churchill: Eric Moy
Clarksburg: Stephanie Huang
Gaithersburg: Kathleen Hallock, Vivek Patel
John F. Kennedy: Jared Griffin
Richard Montgomery: Jeremy Blair, Kara Karpman
Northwest: Karen Qi
Poolesville: Alexa Greenberg
Seneca Valley: Victoria Ward
Springbrook: Richard Steinwand
Walter Johnson: David Peter
Watkins Mill: Gretta Digbeu, David Gaynor
Wheaton: Anna Domini Roma
Walt Whitman: Jacob Levitt

<<Back to browse