Skip to main content Skip to footer site map

IMPORTANT MESSAGE: 12/15/2017 at 10:53 AM -- Refresh page to update message

Montgomery County Public Schools will remain open today, December 15, 2017. Dismissal and all activities will continue as scheduled.

MENSAJES DE EMERGENCIA: 12/15/2017, 10:53 AM -- Refresque la página para actualizar mensaje

Las Escuelas Públicas del Condado de Montgomery permanecerán abiertas hoy, viernes 15 de diciembre de 2017 en horario regular. Las actividades continuarán según programadas.


Twelve Students Win National Merit Scholarships

April 27, 2006
Twelve students have won corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships financed by companies, foundations, and other business organizations. The students are among 30 corporate-sponsored scholarship winners in Maryland. Nationally, about 1,000 scholars were chosen from a group of 15,000 finalists in the annual program of the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC).

The winners, their intended career fields and sponsors are:

• Montgomery Blair High School: Alexander M. Alm, mechanical engineering, Lockheed Martin; Jahnavi S. Bhaskar, law, Lockheed Martin; Kiran N. Bhat, medicine, Lockheed Martin; Katrina G. Emery, aerospace engineering, Lockheed Martin; Daniel J. Gillen, corporate finance, SEC-Securities Industry Committee; Jordan C. Goldstein, technology management, Knight-Ridder, Inc.; John Y. Kim, mathematics, Computer Sciences Corporation; Yueyang Li, biomedical engineering, Lockheed Martin; John M. Silberholz, entrepreneurship, Computer Sciences Corporation.

• Walter Johnson High School: Armen A. Petrosian, engineering, Shell Oil Company

• Walt Whitman High School: Alex Imas, international relations, Watson Wyatt & Company; Elizabeth M. Williams, economics, Watson Wyatt & Company

The scholars are all high school seniors who were selected based on their outstanding academic record, recommendation by school principal, SAT scores that confirmed performance on the qualifying PSAT/NMSQT, and essay describing activities, interests, and goals.

On May 3, NMSC will announce recipients of National Merit $2,500 scholarships, and on May 24 and July 10, NMSC will announce winners of college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards.

<<Back to browse