student smiling
student smiling


Mark Mann Excellence and Harmony Award

2019 Winner 

2019 Mark Mann Winner 2019 Mark Mann Winner - Non-BOE

  Oak View Elementary School Principal, Jeffrey Cline, wins Mark Mann Award.  

 Mr. Jeffrey L. Cline, principal of Oak View Elementary School is this year’s winner of the Mark Mann Excellence and Harmony Award.

The award is presented annually to an MCPS administrator who has shown exceptional performance in promoting academic excellence, positive human relations and community outreach. Mr. Cline was recognized during the May 14, 2019, Board of Education meeting.  The award was presented to Mr. Cline by Superintendent Dr. Jack R. Smith at the June 26, 2019, meeting of MCPS administrators and supervisors. Read Full Story  



2020 Award Details - Deadline for Nominations Extended

The deadline for nominations for the 2020 Mark Mann Excellence and Harmony Award has been extended to Friday, January 24, 2020

About the Award

The award is designed to honor the highest qualities and most significant accomplishments of Dr. Mark Mann, former principal of Parkland Middle School, Montgomery County Public Schools. Dr. Mann was recognized throughout the system as an excellent school-based educator who dedicated himself to understanding and embracing the rich diversity of his school and community. He worked tirelessly to make everyone a vital part of school programs, activities and services.

Nomination Process


Nominations must be supported by at least two of the following: a student;  a staff member,  a parent/guardian, or community member. A minimum of two years experience as a principal is also required.

Nomination Forms

Mark Mann Nomination Form 

Re-Submitting Previous Nominations

Nominations made in previous years may be resubmitted. Questions should be addressed to the Office of Human Resources and Development (OHRD), at 301-279-3900.

Winner Selection and Announcement

A panel appointed by the associate superintendent, Office of Human Resources and Development, will select the recipient, and the award will be presented in April 2020.

When and Where to Submit

Nomination Deadline

 Nomination materials must be received by 4:00 p.m. on Friday, January 24, 2020.

Nomination Form

Mark Mann Nomination Form 



Mailing Address

Pamela Rumer
Montgomery County Public Schools
Office of Human Resources and Development
Mark Mann Award
45 W. Gude Drive, Suite 2100
Rockville, Maryland 20850

email Pamela Rumer (


Past Mark Mann Award Recipients


  •  Stacy A. Ashton
    Burnt Mills ES, 2018 
  • Craig W. Staton
    Julius West MS, 2017 
  • Peter O. Moran
    Glenallan ES, 2016  
  • Michelle E. Schultze
    RICA, 2015  
  • Patricia A. Kelly
    Westover ES, 2014
  • Joey N. Jones
    Robert Frost MS, 2013
  • Carole A. Working
    Quince Orchard HS, 2012
  • Catherine Jasperse
    Rock Creek Valley ES, 2011
  • Debra Munk
    Rockville HS, 2010
  • Billie-Jean Bensen
    Herbert Hoover MS, 2009
  • Michael Zarchin
    Thomas W. Pyle MS, 2008 
  • Lance Dempsey
    Shady Grove MS, 2007
  • Lee Derby
    Garrett Park ES, 2007
  • Sylvia Morrison
    Northwest HS, 2006
  • Sarah Pinkney-Murkey
    Rosa Parks MS, 2005
  • Carole C. Goodman
    James Hubert Blake HS, 2004


  • Kennon D. Evans
    Dr. Sally K Ride ES, 2003
  • James G. Fernandez
    Julius West MS, 2002
  • Kathy L. Brake
    Washington Grove ES, 2001
  • Fred H. Lowenbach
    Paint Branch HS, 2000
  • Phillip F. Gainous
    Montgomery Blair HS, 1999
  • David I. Steinberg
    Gaithersburg MS, 1998
  • Joanne M. Basalacchi
    New Hampshire ES, 1998
  • Sharon J. Jones
    Gaithersburg ES, 1997
  • Mark E. Kelsch
    Sligo MS, 1997
  • Jerome M. Lynch
    Rocky Hill MS, 1996
  • Stephanie B. Jackson
    Chevy Chase ES, 1995
  • Ellen P. DeYoung
    Kemp Mill ES, 1994
  • Dorothy J. Jackson
    Sligo MS, 1993
  • Joseph J. Dalton
    Wheaton HS, 1992
  • Lois E. Bell
    Summit Hall ES, 1991

Montgomery County Public Schools

Contact MCPS

Call: 301-309-6277 | Spanish Hotline: 301-230-3073

Contact Employee & Retiree Services Center

Call: 301-517-8100 | E-mail:

©1995–2020 Montgomery County Public Schools, 850 Hungerford Drive, Rockville, Maryland 20850

Click here to log in