Skip to main content

Mark Mann Excellence and Harmony Award

2024 Winner

April Longest

April Longest

Farmland Elementary School School Principal 


 April Longest, principal at Farmland Elementary School in Rockville, is this year’s winner of the Mark Mann Excellence and Harmony Award.

Full Story

The award is presented annually to an MCPS administrator who has shown exceptional performance in promoting academic excellence, positive human relations and community outreach. 


About the Award

The award is designed to honor the highest qualities and most significant accomplishments of Dr. Mark Mann, former principal of Parkland Middle School, Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS). Dr. Mann was recognized throughout the system as an excellent school-based educator who dedicated himself to understanding and embracing the rich diversity of his school and community. He worked tirelessly to make everyone a vital part of school programs, activities and services.

About the Nominee

The nominee:

Is a current principal in MCPS.

Has a minimum of two years experience as a principal in MCPS.

Is not a previous recipient of this award. (Previous nominees who did not win may be re-nominated.)

Nominations must be supported by at least two of the following: a student;  a staff member,  a parent/guardian, or community member. 

Winner Selection and Announcement

A panel appointed by the chief of Human Resources and Development, will select the recipient, and the award winner will be announced at a Board of Education meeting in May.


Nomination Submission

Nomination Deadline

Nomination materials for the Mark Mann Excellence and Harmony Award must be received by midnight, Friday, December 22, 2023. Only complete packets will be considered. Nomination packets received after the deadline will not be considered.

How to Submit

Nomination materials must be submitted via email to Sandra Karis, administrative services manager, Office of Human Resources and Development (OHRD) at Subject line: Mark Mann Excellence and Harmony Award.

NOMINATION PACKET: Mark Mann Excellence and Harmony Award 2024



Past Mark Mann Award Recipients


  • April Longest
    Farmland ES, 2024
  • Carolynn Walsleben
    Candlewood ES, 2023
  • Gregory C. Mullenholz
    Ashburton  ES, 2022
  • Loretta A. Woods
    Whetstone  ES, 2021
  • Jewel A. Sanders
    Rosa M. Parks MS, 2020 
  • Jeffrey L. Cline
    Oak View ES, 2019
  •  Stacy A. Ashton
    Burnt Mills ES, 2018 
  • Craig W. Staton
    Julius West MS, 2017 
  • Peter O. Moran
    Glenallan ES, 2016  
  • Michelle E. Schultze
    RICA, 2015  
  • Patricia A. Kelly
    Westover ES, 2014
  • Joey N. Jones
    Robert Frost MS, 2013
  • Carole A. Working
    Quince Orchard HS, 2012
  • Catherine Jasperse
    Rock Creek Valley ES, 2011
  • Debra Munk
    Rockville HS, 2010
  • Billie-Jean Bensen
    Herbert Hoover MS, 2009
  • Michael Zarchin
    Thomas W. Pyle MS, 2008 
  • Lance Dempsey
    Shady Grove MS, 2007
  • Lee Derby
    Garrett Park ES, 2007
  • Sylvia Morrison
    Northwest HS, 2006
  • Sarah Pinkney-Murkey
    Rosa Parks MS, 2005
  • Carole C. Goodman
    James Hubert Blake HS, 2004


  • Kennon D. Evans
    Dr. Sally K Ride ES, 2003
  • James G. Fernandez
    Julius West MS, 2002
  • Kathy L. Brake
    Washington Grove ES, 2001
  • Fred H. Lowenbach
    Paint Branch HS, 2000
  • Phillip F. Gainous
    Montgomery Blair HS, 1999
  • David I. Steinberg
    Gaithersburg MS, 1998
  • Joanne M. Basalacchi
    New Hampshire ES, 1998
  • Sharon J. Jones
    Gaithersburg ES, 1997
  • Mark E. Kelsch
    Sligo MS, 1997
  • Jerome M. Lynch
    Rocky Hill MS, 1996
  • Stephanie B. Jackson
    Chevy Chase ES, 1995
  • Ellen P. DeYoung
    Kemp Mill ES, 1994
  • Dorothy J. Jackson
    Sligo MS, 1993
  • Joseph J. Dalton
    Wheaton HS, 1992
  • Lois E. Bell
    Summit Hall ES, 1991

If you have any questions, please contact the Office of Human Resources and Development (OHRD) at 240-740-7012.