Skip to main content

      2024 Shirley J. Lowrie "Thank You for Teaching" Award Winner

Two Winners

Laura Bookman

First grade teacher, Flower Hill Elementary School

Amy Weaver

Second grade teacher, Damascus Elementary

Read Full Story

The Shirley J. Lowrie "Thank You for Teaching" Awawrd was created by the family of Shirley Johnston Lowrie (1935–2003). Shirley grew up with a strong desire to become a teacher.  in 1957, she graduated from the University of Memphis with a degree in Elementary Education.  She taught for several years as a teacher and substitute teacher in California and Connecticut before relocating with her family to Potomac, Maryland.

Well after her teaching career, Shirley remained a strong supporter of the many teachers in her life. Her family created the Shirley J. Lowrie "Thank You for Teaching" Award, through The Montgomery County Community Foundation, to honor her memory by recognizing and encouraging outstanding elementary school teachers in Montgomery County.

About the Award

The Shirley J. Lowrie "Thank You for Teaching" Award seeks to honor extraordinary elementary school teachers who have a deep dedication to the teaching profession. Nominees must meet the following eligibility requirements:

  • Serves as an elementary school teacher (prekindergarten through Grade 5) who works directly with students in the classroom on a daily basis

  • Demonstrates a thorough knowledge of subject matter which is communicated effectively to students

  • Shares his/her enthusiasm for learning with their students

  • Encourages students to set and achieve high goals

  • Fosters relationships with colleagues, parents, and community members

  • Goes the extra mile to ensure that their students receive the support they need to succeed

About the Nominee

The nominee:

Is a current prekindergarten to Grade 5 teacher in MCPS.

Is not a previous recipient of this award. (Previous nominees who did not win may be re-nominated.)

Winner Selection: The Selection Committee will review nominations and make its announcement by April 2024. The winner will receive a $2,500 monetary award.

Nomination Submission

Nomination Deadline

Nomination materials for the Shirley J. Lowrie "Thank You for Teaching" Award must be received by midnight, Friday, December 22, 2023. Only complete packets will be considered. Nomination packets received after the deadline will not be considered.

How to Submit

Nomination materials must be submitted via email to Sandra Karis, administrative services manager, Office of Human Resources and Development (OHRD) at Subject line: Shirley J. Lowrie "Thank You for Teaching" Award .

NOMINATION PACKET: Shirley J. Lowrie Award 2024 


If you have any questions, please contact the Office of Human Resources and Development (OHRD) at 240-740-7012.