Special Education Department

Welcome to the Special Education Department of Paint Branch High School. Mrs. Christine Genua is the Resource Teacher for the Resource Program, Learning and Academic Disabilities Program (LAD), and Learning for Independence Program (LFI). Karla Calloway is the Program Specialist for the Bridge Program.

 2018 Special ed dept

Mission Statement

Through the collaboration of an interdisciplinary team including classes that provide specialized instruction by highly qualified teachers we empower students to strive toward academic success within the least restrictive environment.
For students with disabilities our goal is to:

  • Increase graduation rate
  • Increase life options
  • Provide opportunities to foster a community oriented spirit

Office Hours: 7:20 AM- 2:50 PM
Academic Support Hours: See individual classes on Edline (Edline link)


Special Education Staff Members

 2018 LFI Staff

Christine Genua, Resource Teacher Special Education
Telephone LAD, LFI: 301-388-9958

 Karla Calloway, Secondary Program Specialist
Telephone ED Cluster: 301-388-9954



LAD



Bowman, Amanda J <Amanda_J_Bowman@mcpsmd.org>;

Calloway, Karla G <Karla_G_Calloway@mcpsmd.org>;

Edwards, Nicole R <Nicole_R_Edwards@mcpsmd.org>;

Griffin, Jennifer L <Jennifer_L_Griffin@mcpsmd.org>;

Hardin, Daphne E <Daphne_E_Hardin@mcpsmd.org>;

Oakley, Arjunia A <Arjunia_A_Oakley@mcpsmd.org>;

Sampson, Eric S <Eric_S_Sampson@mcpsmd.org>;

Schiller, Michael J <Michael_J_Schiller@mcpsmd.org>;

Schultze, Julia C <Julia_C_Schultze@mcpsmd.org>;

See, Wayne B <Wayne_B_See@mcpsmd.org>;

Sharlin, Rachel E <Rachel_E_Sharlin@mcpsmd.org>;



Vision


Hirst, Juliann M <Juliann_M_Hirst@mcpsmd.org>;



Speech



McCoy, Karyn S <Karyn_S_McCoy@mcpsmd.org>;



LFI



Kavcsak, Megan N <Megan_N_Kavcsak@mcpsmd.org>;

Ramachandran, Chitra <Chitra_Ramachandran@mcpsmd.org>; Raymond,

Carole S <Carole_S_Raymond@mcpsmd.org>;

Vancavage, Katherine C Katherine_C_Vancavage@mcpsmd.org



Transition



Schneider, Andrea O <Andrea_O_Schneider@mcpsmd.org>;



Supporting staff



Transition



Abdul-Karim, Nisaa <Nisaa_Abdul-Karim@mcpsmd.org>;


LFI



Aviles, Natalia C <Natalia_C_Aviles@mcpsmd.org>;

Davis, Markus <Markus_Davis@mcpsmd.org>;

Kanagbou, Susan M <Susan_M_Kanagbou@mcpsmd.org>;

Lally, Kieran G <Kieran_G_Lally@mcpsmd.org>;

Rahn, Suzanne A <Suzanne_A_Rahn@mcpsmd.org>;

Ross, Denise L <Denise_L_Ross@mcpsmd.org>;

Sloane, Thomas M <Thomas_M_Sloane@mcpsmd.org>;


LAD



Bailey-Smith, Karen M <Karen_M_Bailey-Smith@mcpsmd.org>;

Clay, Janet T <Janet_T_Clay@mcpsmd.org>;

Iordan, Mihai V <Mihai_V_Iordan@mcpsmd.org>;

Nesmith, Michael W <Michael_W_Nesmith@mcpsmd.org>;

Olivencia, Isabel <Isabel_Olivencia@mcpsmd.org>;

Sanders, Gwynethe L <Gwynethe_L_Sanders@mcpsmd.org>;

Strumpf, April C April_C_Strumpf@mcpsmd.org

2018 LFI Staff


Resource Links