Accolades 2017 - 2018

Take a minute to recognize the achievements of our students for the 2017-2018 school year!

Click to see Super Student Successes for the 2016-20172015-20162014-20152013-20142012-2013, 2011-2012 school years.

Shakespeare Club Wins at Folger Shakespeare Club Competition!

Members of the Shakespeare Club participated in the Folger Shakespeare Club and won the following awards:

Stephanie Lehrman and Jenny Stoughton won the awards for student directors (for Hamlet) along with their stage managers, Holly Anderson and Maddy Peek.

Ben Gherman won the Excellence in Acting Award (highest award for acting).

Melanie Staszewski won the Distinguished Acting Award.

Tabitha Fisanich, Sean Fitzgerald, and Jacob Pelzman all won Super Supporting Actor Awards.

The entire ensemble ALSO won the award for the performance with the judges citing the intelligent reading of verse, the execution of a high concept, and the ability of the entire cast to commit, stay in character, and communicate the high stakes and emotion of each moment.

Scholastic Regional Writing Awards

Gold Key Winner
Katya Scott - Personal Essay/Memoir, “A Flower in my Heart”

Silver Key Winner
Emillia Medina - Flash Fiction, “The Rabbit by the Window”
Brenn Hardaway - Personal Essay/Memoir, “And a Half”

Honorable Mention Winners
Saloni Maskey - Poetry, “America Lied”
Amanda Chu - Poetry, “Backwards” and Personal Essay/Memoir,  “Immortal”
Racheal Ssentongo - Personal Essay/Memoir, "Sanyu Babie's Home"

Scholastic Regional Art Award Winners

Congratulations to our fifteen Scholastic Art Award Winners and their outstanding teachers and mentors, Shannon Heaton, Nora Schaefer, and Cam Petke! These students- from all four houses- brought home a total of twenty-five distinguished awards from the hundreds of thousands of entries. Please congratulate them as you see them!

Gold Key Winners
Sofia Bzhilyanskaya - Digital Art, Dark Sand
Elise Evans - Digital Art, No Fear of Becoming Like Mom
Victoria Naumov - Digital Art, Star Whales and Digital Art, Looming Shadows

Silver Key Winners
Elise Evans - Digital Art, Holly
Carol Lee - Photography, Rain Colored Glasses
Joyce Ma - Drawing & Illustration, Marsh
Amanda Mossman - Photography, Silent Sunday
Victoria Naumov - Art Portfolio, Character Concept Art and Design, Pantheons of Kreas, Digital Art, Pantheons of Kreas and Digital Art, Fin
Jessica Pavelle - Photography, The Chemical Hunter
Julia Pavlick - Drawing & Illustration, The Beginning
Jennifer Stoughton - Digital Art, Cielo (Dreamscape)

Honorable Mention Winners
Navya Chintala - Drawing & Illustration, Light pollution
Julia Corfman - Photography, Continuous
Theresa Dollar - Photography, Stars and Stripes
Victoria Gruber - Drawing & Illustration, Infection
Chloe Insalaco - Painting, Tyler and Painting, Adam
Carol Lee - Painting, New Year's Day
Joyce Ma - Drawing & Illustration, Island Girl, Drawing & Illustration, Eagle, and Painting, Annapolis
Julia Pavlick - Drawing & Illustration, June Twenty Fifth
Manchun Xiao - Painting, Lemonade

16 Seniors named as National Merits Scholarship Semifinalists 

Congratulations to the following Seniors on being named National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists!

Joon Bang
Mitchell R Fream
Benjamin M Gherman
Esther In
CaiusA Kim
Daniel D Lee
ParthR Oza
Justin S Park
Gavin F Prebilic
Jagan R Prem
Eric S Qian
Samuel K Rosenberg
Kevin Shen
Kevin L Su
Sreya Vangara
Claude Y Zou

National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced the names of approximately 16,000 Semifinalists in the 63rd annual National Merit Scholarship Program. These academically talented high school seniors have an opportunity to continue in the competition for some 7,500 National Merit Scholarships worth more than $32 million that will be offered next spring. To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 90 percent of the Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and about half of the Finalists will win a National Merit Scholarship, earning the Merit Scholar® title.

This page is maintained by the Poolesville High School's Web Team
Click here to log in