English

Phone: (301) 962-1033
Resource Teacher: Ms. Katie Gramcko

Mission Statement:

The mission of the English department is to provide instruction in language and literature that prepares all students to be college and career ready in literacy. We engage students to read, write, speak, listen, and view effectively to become reflective, critical, and creative thinkers. Our goal is to develop the skills that are the foundation for purposeful and creative expression in language and to encourage an appreciation of literature and multiple perspectives in order to improve understanding of complex issues in a global society.

 

Parent PARCC Checklist


Mrs. Sarah Coleman  

Teacher, High

Sarah_Coleman@mcpsmd.org  

 

  • Honors English 10
  • Honors English 12
 

Ms. Elizabeth Colson  

Teacher, High

Elizabeth_C_Colson@mcpsmd.org  

 

  • Honors English 11
  • Honors English 12
  • It's Academic Sponsor  
 

Mr. Eric Da Silva  

Teacher, High

Eric_D_DaSilva@mcpsmd.org  

 

  • English 9
  • Honors English 9
  • AP Literature & Composition (12 th grade)
 

Ms. Kathryn Gramcko  

English Teacher Resource

Kathryn_E_Gramcko@mcpsmd.org  

 

  • English 11
  • AP Literature & Composition (12 th grade)
 

Ms. Vanessa Imoroa  

Teacher, High

Vanessa_Imoroa@mcpsmd.org  

 

  • English 11
  • Honors English 11
 

Mr. Paul Kio  

Teacher, High

Paul_R_Kio@mcpsmd.org  

 

  • Honors English 10
  • Pre-IB English 10
 

Ms. Cynthia Krauchi  

Classroom Teacher High

Cynthia_Krauchi@mcpsmd.org  

 

  • Pre-IB English 9
  • IB English Literature 2
  • IB Theory of Knowledge
 

Ms. Amy Malone  

English Teacher

Amy_E_Malone@mcpsmd.org  

 

  • Honors English 10
  • IB English Literature 1
 

Ms. Kerri Mauer  

Teacher, Focus

Kerri_L_Mauer@mcpsmd.org  

 

  • Pre-IB English 9
  • Honors English 9
 

Mrs. Joanna Pappafotis  

English Teacher

Joanna_S_Pappafotis@mcpsmd.org  

 

  • AP Language & Composition (11 th grade)
  • English 12
  • Literary Magazine Sponsor (Open Mic Coffeehouse Events)  

 

Ms. Bethany Shaffer  

Teacher, High

Bethany_L_Shaffer@mcpsmd.org  

 

  • Pre-IB English 10
  • English 11
  • Bridge English 11
  • Debate Sponsor  
 

Mrs. Tara Trawick  

English Teacher

Tara_M_Trawick@mcpsmd.org  

 

  • Honors English 9
  • English 10
  • Creative Writing
 

Miss Kerry Walsh  

Teacher, Focus

Kerry_L_Walsh@mcpsmd.org  

 

  • English 9
  • Honors English 9
  • Academic Reading
 

Mr. Gregory Zemel  

Teacher

Gregory_M_Zemel@mcpsmd.org  

 

  • AP Language & Composition (11 th grade)
  • English 12
  • College Prep Literacy (12 th  grade)