Eastern's 2023 C-SPAN StudentCam Winners

March 15, 2023
– This morning C-SPAN announced the winners of the 2023 StudentCam documentary competition, in which nearly 3,000 students from around the country participated. 
 C-SPAN awared cash prizes totaling $100,000, which will be awarded to students and teachers.
– This year, Eastern Middle School had nine winning documentaries consisting of 23 Eastern Eagles!
Here are our winners!
– Second Prize Winners
Ganesh Ramamurthi, Luiza Cardoso de Araujo, & Rayna Wofford8th GradeWhat a Waste
– Third Prize Winners
Clara Faulk, Cory Protas, & Margot Ashford8th GradeOut of the Closet, Onto the Streets: The LGBTQ+ Homelessness Crisis
– Honorable Mention Winners
Madeline Thompson & Isaiah Hekhuis8th GradeMade in -China- America
Lillian Levine, Ada Ingram, & Ryden Turner8th GradeThe Superiority Complex
Anishka Biswas, Frances Pipa, & Lark Jeffers8th GradeThe Voting Rights Act: Filling the Polls
Leilia McCabe & Miriam Torrey-Coffidis8th GradeMedia Consolidation: The Hidden Issue Challenging American Democracy
Clara Arbolino, Asha Haimson, & Julia Sun8th GradeNo Appetite For Change: The Inequities of America's School Lunch Program