Special Education Advisory Committee meetings

Special Education

Telephone: 301-649-8276 (LAD Program) | 301-649-8514 (ED Program)

About Us

Welcome to the Special Education Department at Northwood High School. We offer two services. The first service is the Learning and Academic Disabilities (LAD). Mrs. Jeannie Joseph is the RT. The second service is Emotional Disabilities (ED). Mr. Anthony Dickens serves as the Program Specialist. As a department it is our goal to help our students to be successful and confident members of our community. We work very closely with the Guidance Counselors, teachers, administrators, Wellness Center, and the CSACC program at Northwood.


How to Address an Issue About My Child?

If you have a question regarding your child, you should first contact the case manager. The best way to reach the case managers is by email. If you would like to call, please dial (301) 649-8276 (LAD) and (301) 649-8514 (ED). Please understand that when you call this number you will not immediately access the case manager, but a message will be taken and delivered to them.


How Can I Stay on Top of Grades?

MCPS uses myMCPS Portal. The myMCPS Portal is a 21st century digital learning environment specifically designed to meet the needs of staff, students, and parents of Montgomery County Public Schools. From teaching and learning to community outreach to professional development, myMCPS Portal is the next generation classroom. Access to the myMCPS Portal will be available online and through a mobile app.

MMC Classroom Login
  • Check homework, assignments, tests
  • View classroom announcements
  • Access classroom documents/resources
  • Email teachers 
 
StudentParent_Portal
  • View grades 
  • View student schedule
  • Check daily attendance
  • Update student emergency information
  • Email teachers
 

What If I Have Other Concerns?

If you have other concerns regarding your child, please feel free to let the case manager know.


Transition Services

The following is a breakdown of actions that students in each grade should take.

9, 10, and 11th Graders:

  • Make appointments with their counselors to review their academic progress and plan for next year. 
  • Consider career and technology course offerings at the Thomas Edison High School of Technology.  (Students/Parents should visit or attend an Open House).
  • Register for the SAT/ACT.
  • Visit the SSL Coordinator to get the approved Student Service Learning activities list.

12th Graders:

  • Complete all college applications and return them.   Attend college visits. 
  • Register to technical colleges.
  • Complete SSL hours.
  • Complete graduation requirements.
  • Pay graduation fees.

If students and parents have additional questions about Transition Services, they should access the MCPS Transition Services site at: https://www.montgomeryschoolsmd.org/departments/special-education/programs-services/transition-services-unit.aspx


Staff Members

SPECIAL EDUCATION - ED PROGRAM - 301-649-8514

Name Position Email
Mr. Anthony Dickens Resource Teacher Anthony_B_Dickens@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Robert Chapman Paraeducator Robert_L_Chapman@mcpsmd.org
Mrs. Tammy Faulk Paraeducator Tammy_Y_Faulk@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Jason Gray Paraeducator Jason_E_Gray@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Cierra Harris Paraeducator Cierra_T_Harris@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Gregory Kotch Teacher Gregory_Kotch@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Stephen Mogge Paraeducator Stephen_J_Mogge@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Jamie Newton Paraeducator Jamie_Newton@mcpsmd.org
Mrs. Janelle Peoples-Shaw Teacher Janelle_Peoples-shaw@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Giovanni Reumante Paraeducator Giovanni_D_Reumante@mcpsmd.org

SPECIAL EDUCATION - LAD PROGRAM - 301-649-8275

Name Position Email
Mrs. Jeannie Joseph Resource Teacher JeanMarie_Joseph@mcpsmd.org
Mrs. Joanne Bryson Paraeducator Joanne_F_Bryson@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Rowena Deluca Paraeducator Rowena_R_Deluca@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Dana Dennis Teacher Dana_A_Dennis@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Michael Dunn Teacher Michael_Dunn@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Margaret Fletcher Teacher Margaret_L_Fletcher@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Joseph Hall Paraeducator Joseph_A_Hall@mcpsmd.org
Dr. Jennifer G. Harris Transition Support Teacher Jennifer_G_Harris@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Jesse Hull Teacher Jesse_P_Hull@mcpsmd.org
Mrs. Wanda Johnson Teacher Wanda_E_Johnson@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Louis Levine Paraeducator  Louis_T_Levine@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Kristen Loughney Teacher Kristen_Loughney@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Tammy McMillen Paraeducator Tammy_R_Mcmillen@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Paulette Medley Paraeducator Paulette_D_Medley@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Alix Medor Teacher Alix_Medor@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Sara Money Paraeducator Sara_M_Money@mcpsmd.org
Mr. Simon Moore Paraeducator Simon_D_Moore@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Zully Pineda Paraeducator Zully_I_Pineda@mcpsmd.org 
Mr. Tracy Roberts Teacher Tracy_Roberts@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Kristy Schwatka Teacher Kristy_M_Schwatka@mcpsmd.org
Mrs. Joanna Shahid Paraeducator Joanna_A_Gyermeh@mcpsmd.org
Mrs. Lynne Stevens Speech Pathologist Lynne_W_Stevens@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Deneen Turner Teacher Deneen_M_Turner@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Robyn Watts Teacher Robyn_D_Watts@mcpsmd.org
Mrs. Candace Wilkerson Teacher Candace_L_Wilkerson@mcpsmd.org
Ms. Anna Wolfe Paraeducator Anna_M_Wolfe@mcpsmd.org