Counseling Services Department

Counseling Services Department

Our Mission is to support all students academically, emotionally and socially so that they may develop their unique talents and abilities to their fullest potential.

We are committed to ensuring high quality school counseling programs that are comprehensive and developmentally appropriate which foster academic, personal, interpersonal, and career development to all students. School counselors will collaborate with parents, students, staff, and the community to remove barriers to learning and provide opportunities and supports to empower students to embrace their full potential and achieve their academic and personal aspirations.

Vision

  • To promote respect among students and staff
  • Encourage students to challenge themselves academically and pursue a rigorous curriculum
  • Work with students, staff and parents to promote a spirit of cooperation

Contact:

Hours: 7:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Office: 301-924-3210
Fax: 301-924-3220


Counselor Assignments

Counselors are assigned to students based on the students last name. Use the following table to determine your counselor:

  Counselor Email Grade 9-12
Elizabeth Al-Atrash, Resource Counselor at Sherwood HS Elizabeth Al-Atrash
Resource Counselor
Elizabeth_G_Al-Atrash@mcpsmd.org A
  Karen Johnson Karen_D_Johnson@mcpsmd.org B-Cap
Nancy Benson, Sherwood HS Nancy Benson Nancy_L_Benson@mcpsmd.org Car-Fd
Kelly Singleton, Sherwood HS Kelly Singleton Kelly_M_Singleton@mcpsmd.org Fe-Ja
  Christina Newbill Christina_M_Newbill@mcpsmd.org Jb-Mar
Erin McKenna, Sherwood HS Counseling Erin McKenna Erin_M_McKenna@mcpsmd.org Mas-Pe
Bill Sartori, Sherwood HS Counseling Bill Sartori William_L_Sartori@mcpsmd.org Pf-St
Jamii Avery, Sherwood HS Counseling Jamii Avery Jamii_Avery@mcpsmd.org Su-Z
  Secretaries Email
Georganne Linthicum, Sherwood HS Counseling Georganne Linthicum Georganne_M_Linthicum@mcpsmd.org
Barbara Lee, Sherwood HS Counseling Barbara Lee Barbara_A_Lee@mcpsmd.org
  Additional staff who support
the Counseling Department:
Email
Mrs. Janette Hernandez, Registrar at Sherwood HS Counseling Mrs. Janette Hernandez, Registrar (301) 924-3286
Mr. Joe Hock, College/Career Advisor at Sherwood HS Mr. Joe Hock, College/Career Advisor (301) 924-3219
Students may also be referred to
the following Student Services staff:
Position
Ms. Lajuana Brown Pupil Personnel Worker
Ms. Nancy Baglin School Psychologist