Home   →  Departments  → Special Education

Special Education Departments

ED Cluster Program Coordinator:
Mrs. Rachel Maturana, 301-610-8156
Special Education Resource Teacher:
Mrs. Rachel Furr, 301-610-8129
Special Education Transition Support Teacher:
Mrs. Lisa O'Brien, 301-610-8158


The Richard Montgomery High School Special Education Team is a dedicated partnership between special educators, paraprofessionals, related service providers, and parents united by a common responsibility to guarantee that students with learning differences access and make progress in the general curriculum.  As life-long learners who model, implement and share best practices for inclusive education, the members of our partnership seek to ensure that all students feel valued, safe, and successful as they strive to achieve their greatest potential.

Resources for students and Transition Services - For more information contact Lisa O'Brien.

Resource Department 

 LAD Teachers 

Mrs. Rachel Furr - Resource Teacher Special Education

Mrs. Lisa O'Brien - Transition Support Teacher 

Ms. Sheryl Stevens - Speech and Language Pathologist 

Ms. Teresa Boyd - Math/Resource 

Ms. Rebecca Brown - Science/Math 

Ms. Jaclyn Cular - English 9 & 10 

Mr. Glenn Del Favero - NSL Government 

Mr. Christopher Hinsvark - English 9 & 12 

Mr. Joshua Rubin - US History 

Mr. Christopher Schauer - Math (Algebra I, Geometry, Algebra II)

Ms. Lynn Taylor - English 11


Ms. Theresa Bell - Paraeducator 

Ms. Gloria Bustamante - Paraeducator 

Ms. Joyce Fuller - Paraeducator 

Ms. Nely Gama - Paraeducator 

Mr. Adam Melis - Paraeducator 

Ms. Paula Sahr - Paraeducator  

ED Cluster Department 


The Cluster Program at Richard Montgomery High school is a special education program that provides educational support to students experiencing significant emotional, behavioral and social difficulties in school. Through the implementation of an Individual Education Plan (IEP), educational supports are given so that students may experience success in the academic and social environments at Richard Montgomery. The Cluster program staff identify developmentally appropriate learning strategies and interventions that are implemented throughout a student’s day at school. The program consists of 5 teachers and 7 educational assistants. In addition, there is a program coordinator and mental health support team. This consists of a psychologist, social worker and behavior support teacher. Students are provided with a full continuum of services, ranging from self-contained academic classes to full inclusion in all general education classes and school-wide activities.

ED Cluster Staff:  

Mrs. Rachel Maturana - Program Coordinator 

Ms. Adriana Lara - Math 

Ms. Karen Haslett - Social Studies 

Mrs. Kathy Richardson - Science 

Mrs. Brianna Uribe-Ramos - English


Ms. Takeeta Allen - Paraeducator 

Mr. Travares Cooper - Paraeducator

Ms. Yvette Dowtin - Paraeducator 

Ms. Susan Kort - Paraeducator 

Mrs. Lali Koshy - Paraeducator 

Ms. Rosa Somarriba - Paraeducator

Mr. Wesley Wright - Paraeducator  




This page is maintained by the Richard Montgomery High School's Web Team
Click here to log in