Athletics Hall of Fame

Welcome to the Magruder Athletic Hall of Fame

"Celebrating Magruder's 45 years of excellence in
athletics, scholarship, community support and leadership!"

2014 inductees

 2014 Induction Class Featured at Halftime of the Homecoming Football Game!!!

Hilary Lawson   Max Sartoph  
Hilary Lawson-golf (athlete) Max Sartoph-wrestling coach and Scott Foster (contributor)-top
Michael Blake   Steve Rogers  
Michael Blake-football (athlete) Steve Rogers-basketball (athlete)

WHAT'S NEW (Last updated 3/18)

ANNOUNCEMENT:  NOMINATIONS FOR THE MAGRUDER ATHLETIC HALL OF FAME ARE OPEN!!! Starting in 2016, the Magruder Athletic Hall of Fame moved from annual inductions to inductions every two years.     The next induction ceremony will take place in Fall of 2018.  Nominations are open until May 20th, 2018th.



The Magruder High School Athletic Hall of Fame is now accepting nominations of former student-athletes, coaches and contributors for consideration to the MHS Athletic Hall of Fame.  Nominations are open until May 20th, 2018 and should be sent to Silas Cheung or Scott Zanni at Magruder High School.  All nominations received by the deadline will be considered for the induction class of 2018.  After the 2018 inductions, the Magruder Athletic Hall of Fame Committee will consider moving inductions to a period of longer than every two years.    Questions about the Magruder Athletic Hall of Fame should be sent directly to Max Sartoph at Clarksburg High School. 




The 2015 Magruder Athletic Hall of Fame ceremonies took place September 25th and 26th.   On September 25th the inductees were honored at halftime of the varsity football game.  This year, because Magruder’s football field is being redone, the Magruder vs. Watkins Mill football game was held at Gaithersburg High School, 101 Education Blvd., Gaithersburg, MD 20877.   The inductees (Dan Bailey, Greg Lefelar and Natalie (Elbaz) Hambrecht were honored at half time of the football game.   The following day, the inductees were all honored during dinner at Golden Bull in Gaithersburg, MD.  

The 2015 Induction class has been announced and it features two student-athletes and one student-athlete who returned to Magruder as a coach.  In addition to the annual inductions, the HOF will recognize and honor the 1984 state championship field hockey team.  Dan Bailey (class of 1981) is being inducted for his outstanding play in basketball and baseball.  Dan won numerous awards in basketball and continued his career playing college basketball at Nyack College, where he holds the school record for points in a career.  Dan has also worked as a college basketball coach and athletic director.  Greg Lefelar (class of 1977) was an all-county basketball and baseball player at Magruder and named the best male athlete his senior year.  Greg played four years of baseball at Wake Forest where he won several awards.  Greg lives in Montgomery County, Maryland owning his own business.  Natalie (Elbaz) Hambrecht (class of 1999) was a four year member of the Varsity Pom squad and captain her senior season.  During that time, Natalie was on three teams that won four straight county titles and three unofficial state championships.  Later Natalie returned to Magruder, serving as a Varsity Poms coach for 4 seasons, winning three more county titles and two more state championships.  Natalie currently works as a reading specialist for Montgomery County Public Schools.   Although the Magruder Athletic HOF doesn't induct teams, the HOF will from time to time honor and recognize an entire team.  This year the 1984 state championship field hockey team will be honored.  This team was the first female state championship team in the history of Magruder.  The 2015 induction ceremonies will take place the last weekend of September.  On Friday, September 25th, all three inductees and all members of the 1984 team will be honored at halftime of the Homecoming Football game.  The following night (September 26th) an awards dinner will take place at the Golden Bull.  At the dinner, Dan, Greg and Natalie will each be formally inducted.  Additionally, all members of the 1984 field hockey team will be honored.  Specific details (menu, costs, etc.) will be posted later this summer.  

The 2014 induction class featured three individuals inducted as athletes:  Michael Blake (football), Hilary Lawson (golf) and Steve Rogers (basketball), one former student-athlete inducted as a coach (Max Sartoph) and Steve Foster as a contributor, who was a student-athlete and now is one of the top officials in the NBA.

Magruder Hall of Fame Members

To see the current members of the Magruder Athletic Hall of Fame, their year of induction and brief reason for induction, please visit our "Induction Page" by clicking here.  This page will eventually include pictures of the plaques for each individual that are hanging in the MHS Athletic Hall of Fame outside the Main Gym. 

Introduction to the Athletic Hall of Fame

The Magruder High School Athletic Hall of Fame was created in 2002 to honor those who have made outstanding contributions to the Magruder athletics program.  In 2002, the varsity coaches, athletic director (Karl Heimbach) and principal (David Steinberg) helped create the Hall of Fame by adopting the structure of the Hall of Fame and the selection criteria.  Late that year the first selection committee was formed.   In the fall of 2003 the first inductions took place and to date over 35 athletes, coaches, administrators and community members have been honored.  Anyone can nominate a former student-athlete, coach, administrator or community member.  The nomination period closes May 15th of each year and the selection committee meets to determine the inductees for the following fall. 

Inductees are honored at halftime of the Homecoming Football game each year and at an awards dinner the following night.  Each inductee receives a plaque to commemorate their contributions to Magruder athletics.  A similar plaque is also hung in the Magruder Athletic Hall of Fame outside of the main gym. 

Selection Committee:  the current selection committee include:

Max Sartoph: Chariman (2012-present), Former Varsity Wrestling coach, Magruder alum

Scott Zanni:  Former Chairman (2001-2012), current Social Studies Teacher and Varsity Girls Volleyball Coach, former Asst. AD

Katie (Peyton) Acton: current PE teacher, former Girls soccer coach, Magruder alum

Ray Fowle:  current Social Studies teacher, current Varsity Football coach, Proud Magruder alum

Silas Cheung:    Magruder Athletic Director, Magruder alum

Cindy Graham:  Former Varsity Cheerleading coach, Magruder alum, member of MHS Athletic HOF

Thomas Lee:  Long time community member, father of multiple Magruder athletes

Andrew Sidorick:  retired Magruder teacher, long time varsity baseball and football coach, member of MHS Athletic HOF

Nomination Information: 

 Google form for Hall of Fame

Selection Process -this is a pdf file that explains the nomation process and the selection criteria used

Nomination Form Athlete -this is a pdf file of the nomination forms.  All completed forms should be sent to Scott Zanni click here

   Nomination Form Coach, Administrator, and Community-this is a pdf file of the nomination forms.  All completed forms should be sent to Scott Zanni click here