Mathematics

Department Phone Number: 301-320-6589

Resource Teacher: Russ Rushton 

Russell_H_Rushton@mcpsmd.org

 

  • For Rapid Learner Honors Precal students: Some summer math to keep the juices flowing. Are You Ready for RL
  • For students who will take BC Calculus in 2013-2014: Summer Packet to be done before school starts and turned in on the first day. Calculus BC summer packet
  • For students who will take AB Calculus in 2013-2014: Summer Packet to be done before school starts and turned in on the first day. Calculus AB summer packet 
  • For students who will take Multivariable Calculus in 2012-2013: The first unit will be a review of integration techniques (Integration by parts, trigonometric integrals, trig substitution, partial fractions, and miscellaneous other methods). Here are the five worksheets that will constitute the homework, some lecture note frameworks for learning/reviewing these topics, and some internet weblinks for additional information on the topics.

Integration Techniques Practice

Integration by parts  

Trigonometric Integrals 

Trig Substitution Methods 


 The following three general websites have good information on the integration techniques we will be studying. If you want to see them developed with examples and good foundational information go to these links at which you will have to choose the topic(s) you are particularly interested in--integration by parts, trig integrals, trig substitution, partial fractions, etc.

www.PatrickJMT.com (scroll down to Calculus and then select topics of interest)
Khanacademy.org (their subjects are alphabetical--find calculus--and the topics within the subjects are somewhat chronological--use indefinite integral, definite integral, and trig as words you look for in the descriptions

Teacher

Subjects Taught (15-16 school year)

Other information (Coach, club sponsor, etc)

Bonnie Duvall-Butler

Bonnie_J_Butler@mcpsmd.org

 

Honors Pre-calculus, Calculus with Applications  

Anne Chiasson

Anne_G_Chiasson@mcpsmd.org

Honors Geometry  
 Elizabeth Doschek
AP Statistics, Linear Algebra  

Steve Hays

Stephen_J_Hays@mcpsmd.org

AP Microeconomics/AP Macroeconomics, Honors Pre-Calculus, Digital Electronics Varsity Coach-cross country, indoor track, outdoor track
Ralph Hisle
Algebra 1 Part 1, Honors Geometry, Honors Algebra 2  

Michelle Holloway

Michelle_Holloway@mcpsmd.org

AP BC Calculus, Algebra 2  

Amy Hunt

Amy_B_Hunt@mcpsmd.org
Honors Algebra 2, Algebra 2, College Test Prep (SAT ACT)  

Janet Konschnik

Janet_Konschnik@mcpsmd.org
Honors Geometry, Algebra 1  

Steven Koppel

Steven_D_Koppel@mcpsmd.org

Honors Algebra 2, Geometry  

James Kuhn

James_M_Kuhn@mcpsmd.org

AP AB Calculus Varsity football coach

David Paulson

David_A_Paulson@mcpsmd.org

Precalculus, AP Statistics  
Laura Evans-Rhodes
Algrebra 1, Honors Algebra 2  

David Rosen

David_Rosen@mcpsmd.org

Honors Algebra 2, Bridge to Algebra 2, Pre-Calculus  

Russ Rushton

Russell_H_Rushton@mcpsmd.org

Quantitative Literacy, SAMM (Statistics and Mathematical Modeling)  Resource Teacher

Jean Shin

Jean_L_Shin@mcpsmd.org

Calculus with Applications, Honors Geometry  

Mike Stebbins

Michael_C_Stebbins@mcpsmd.org  

Geometry, Honors Geometry, Algebra 1 part 2  

Meg Thatcher

Meg_Thatcher@mcpsmd.org

Honors Pre-Calculus, Rapid Learner Pre-Calculus, Algebra 1  JV Softball coach

Susan Wildstrom

Susan_S_Wildstrom@mcpsmd.org

Multivariable Calculus/Differential Equations, Rapid Learner Pre-Calculus