For more information contact:

Ms. Gabriella Starita

National Honor Society

Mission Statement

The National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to recognize those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, leadership, service, and character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1921.

JFK National Honor Society group photo 2016
"Efforts and courage are not enough without purpose and direction.”
—John F. Kennedy, 1960

Our Sponsor

Ms. Gabriella Starita is the sponsor of John F. Kennedy’s National Honors Society. She has been actively running NHS for five years and provides Kennedy students with opportunities for leadership roles to help them advance their community as well as build good character within themselves.

4 Pillars of the National Honor Society

  • Leadership
  • Character
  • Service
  • Academics/Scholarship

Requirements to Apply for for Membership

  • Scholarship: Per national guidelines, at a minimum, students must have a cumulative GPA of 3.40.
  • Service: This involves voluntary contributions made by a student to the school or community, done without compensation.
  • Leadership: Student leaders are those who are resourceful, good problem solvers, and idea contributors. Leadership experiences can be drawn from school or community activities while working with or for others.
  • Character: The student of good character is cooperative; demonstrates high standards of honesty and reliability; shows courtesy, concern, and respect for others; and generally maintains a clean disciplinary record.

Requirements to Maintain Membership

  • Minimum quarterly GPA is 3.40
  • 30 service hours during the school year in representation of NHS (over and above MCPS-required SSL hours for graduation)
  • Attend monthly meetings and committee meetings
  • Demonstrate the 4 pillars in all areas

Congratulations to the 2017-18 National Honor Society Members!

Executive Board:
President: Alexander Quinto
Vice President: Veronica Abebe
Secretary: Priscilla Hounkponou
Treasurer: Leticia Sato
Historian: Queanna Walker

Service: Enomeris (Koko) Fanwar
Fundraising: Nicolle Vigil Aguinada
Membership: Ronald Argueta
Service: Elizabeth Aguas
Social Media: Jose Figueroa Delgado

General Membership:

Clark Abbott     Jose Figueroa Delgado     Xuan-Nguyen Nguyen
Veronica Abebe     Kelsey Folley     Harold Oceda
Sihame Abora Diallo     Orpha Foster Jewell     Johaness Therese Osorio
Elizabeth Ann Aguas     Vanessa Garcia     Samrat Pathak
Maria Patricia Anne Amigos     Rony Garcia-Vivas     Khanh Phan
Charleen Anani     Meron Gebre Egziabher     Jamielyn Quinto
Bryan Argueta     Bereket Hailu     Alexander Quinto
Ronald Agueta     Isabella Hinrichs     Kierra Regis
Hewan Ayele     Priscilla Hounkponou     Estefani Reyes Arevalo
De'Andra Bailey     Khairatun (Hisan) Iskandar     Leticia Sato
Truman Becker     Taylor Johnson     Lulit Shewangizaw
Yesica Benitez     Frank Lapa Bonifacio     Alex Sobgo
Nicole Chavarria     Marieme Lima     Safiya Hanako Toy Ha Suliman
Amber Davis     Vanessa Lin     Valery Tabraj Huaccachi
Mariah De Paula     Jessica Littleton     Tsega Tefera
Andrea Marie Deyto     Nancy Lovos-Guevara     Ashley Vargas-Arandia
Kaya-Nadine Edmondson-Deigh     Jonathan Ly     Nicolle Vigil Aguinada
Marta Esayes     Mahelet Mesfin     Jana Mariah Villaviza
Diego Escobar Martinez     Larissa Miranda     Queanna Walker
Enomeris (Koko) Fanwar     Melany Moran     Axelle Wouappi
Nicole Fernandez Mamani     Carline Narvaez     Alan Zhang
JFK NHS double group photos stacked

Calendar of Upcoming Events

Social Networking

Instagram: @JFKNHS
Twitter: @JFKNHS