The Board of Education of Montgomery County met with Montgomery County Planning Board at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on May 13, 2009.

Those in attendance were:

Shirley Brandman, President
Chris Barclay
Laura Berthiaume
Patricia B. O'Neill, Vice President
Judith Docca
Phil Kauffman
Quratul-Ann Malik
Roland Ikheloa, Chief of Staff

Jerry D. Weast, Superintendent of Schools
Larry Bowers, Chief Operating Officer
Frieda Lacey, Deputy Superintendent of Schools
Joe Lavorgna, Acting Director, Department of Facilities Management
Bruce Crispell, Assistant Director, Department of Facilities Management
Janice Turpin, Real Estate Management Team Leader

Royce Hansen, Chairman, Planning Board Jean Cryor, Member, Planning Board Rolling Stanley, Planning Director Mary Bradford, Director of Parks Michael Riley, Deputy Director of Parks

The Planning Board will host the next meeting soon (before the next budget preparation season).

The group suggested forming a group of stakeholders to recommend a plan to deal with the challenges of implementing the eight percent impervious surface requirement. Also include those who drafted the requirement. Some sections in the county's protection areas have caps of eight percent on the amount of "impervious surface," or paved area that is allowed.