APPROVED 19-2004 Rockville, Maryland June 17, 2004

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Thursday, June 17, 2004, at 7:10 p.m.

Present:	Mr. Sharon W. Cox, President in the Chair
	Mr. Kermit V. Burnett
	Dr. Charles Haughey
	Mr. Walter Lange
	Mrs. Patricia B. O'Neill
	Mr. Gabe Romero
	Mr. Sagar Sanghvi, Student Board Member
	Dr. Jerry Weast, Secretary/Treasurer

None

Absent:

Re: SELECTION OF A NEW BOARD MEMBER FROM DISTRICT 5

Pursuant to Section 3-901(f)(5) of the *Education Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland*, Ms. Cox announced that the following five candidates eligible for appointment to the District 5 vacancy were before the Board: Mary Edwards, Phillip Kauffman, Henry Lee, Leslie Ridgway, and Ruby Rubens.

Mr. Burnett voted for Ms. Rubens Mrs. O'Neill voted for Dr. Lee Mr. Sanghvi voted for Ms. Rubens Dr. Haughey voted for Dr. Lee Mr. Romero voted for Dr. Lee Mr. Lange voted for Dr. Lee Ms. Cox voted for Ms. Edwards

Ms. Cox announced that Dr. Henry Lee had been selected as the new Board member from District 5.

The meeting ended at 7:15 p.m.

PRESIDENT

Board Minutes

JDW:gr