The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Thursday, January 21, 1993, at 7:35 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Dr. Alan Cheung, President

in the Chair
Mr. Stephen Abrams
Mrs. Frances Brenneman
Mr. Blair G. Ewing
Mrs. Carol Fanconi

Mrs. Beatrice Gordon
Ms. Ana Sol Gutierrez
Mr. Jonathan Sims

Absent: None

Others Present: Dr. Paul L. Vance, Superintendent

Mrs. Katheryn W. Gemberling, Deputy

Dr. H. Philip Rohr, Deputy

Mr. Thomas S. Fess, Parliamentarian

#indicates student vote does not count. Four votes are needed for adoption.

Re: PUBLIC HEARING - FY 1994 OPERATING

BUDGET

The following individuals appeared before the Board of Education:

- 1. Sandra Kopinski, Seneca Valley Cluster
- 2. Nancy King, Watkins Mill Cluster
- 3. Howard Zuses, Administrative Vice President
- 4. Cindy Waetjen, Springbrook Cluster
- 5. Anna Nevius, Magruder Cluster
- 6. Linda Lang, Whitman Cluster
- 7. Marilyn Van Degrift and Walt Lange, Wootton Cluster
- 8. Martha Stombotne, MCCSSE
- 9. Bernie Fomengia, Individual
- 10. Joan Karasik, ARC of Montgomery County
- 11. Denise Perez, Individual
- 12. Liz Roth, OSAE Advisory Committee
- 13. Rebecca Carroll, Autism Society
- 14. Michael Reaves, Clyde Purnell, and Ernest Faber, Head Start
- 15. Jean Thayer, Commission on Children and Youth
- 16. Keith Prouty, Community Coalition for the Schools
- 17. Spencer Klezenow, Individual
- 18. Owen Nichols, African-American Festival of Academic Excellence
- 19. Connie Warner, Individual
- 20. Holly Joseph, League of Women Voters
- 21. Jane Hardy, Individual

- 22. Selene Robinson, Parents for the Parent Education Resource Center
- 23. Jay Headman, MCAASP
- 24. Thelma Monk, ESAA
- 25. Phil Gainous, SSAA
- 26. Robyn Baron, Children with Attention Deficit Disorders
- 27. Phyllis A. Parks Robinson, MCEA

Re: ADJOURNMENT

The president adjourned the meeting at 11:10 p.m.

PRESIDENT	
 SECRETARY	

PLV:mlw