APPROVED 3-1993

The Board of Education of Montgomery County met in special session at the Carver Educational Services Center, Rockville, Maryland, on Tuesday, January 19, 1993, at 7:35 p.m.

ROLL CALL Present: Dr. Alan Cheung, President

in the Chair

Mr. Stephen Abrams*
Mrs. Frances Brenneman
Mr. Blair G. Ewing
Mrs. Carol Fanconi
Mrs. Beatrice Gordon

Absent: Ms. Ana Sol Gutierrez

Others Present: Dr. Paul L. Vance, Superintendent

Mr. Jonathan Sims

Mrs. Katheryn W. Gemberling, Deputy

Dr. H. Philip Rohr, Deputy

#indicates student vote does not count. Four votes are needed for adoption.

RESOLUTION NO. 46-93 Re: CLOSED SESSION - JANUARY 25, 1993

On recommendation of the superintendent and on motion of Mrs. Fanconi seconded by Mr. Ewing, the following resolution was adopted unanimously:

WHEREAS, The Board of Education of Montgomery County is authorized by the Education Article of the <u>Annotated Code of Maryland</u> and Title 10 of the State Government Article to conduct certain meetings or portions of its meetings in closed session; now therefore be it

Resolved, That the Board of Education of Montgomery County hereby conduct a meeting in closed session in Room 120 of the Carver Educational Services Center, 850 Hungerford Drive, Rockville, Maryland, on Monday, January 25, 1993, at 7 p.m.; and be it further

Resolved, That the meeting on January 25, 1993, is to discuss personnel matters, pending litigation, matters protected from public disclosure by law, and other issues including consultation with counsel to obtain legal advice as permitted under Section 4-106, Education Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland and State Government Article 10-501; and that this meeting shall continue in closed session until the completion of business.

^{*}Mr. Abrams joined the meeting at this point.

Re: PUBLIC HEARING FOR THE FY 1994 OPERATING BUDGET

The following individuals appeared before the Board:

- 1. Sharon Friedman, MCCPTA
- 2. Linna Barnes, Bethesda-Chevy Chase Cluster
- 3. Julia Bromley, Winston Churchill Cluster
- 4. Laura Steinberg, Montgomery Blair Cluster
- 5. Allen Prettiman, Damascus Cluster
- 6. Margaret Ascienzo, Albert Einstein Cluster
- 7. Linda Rigsby, Gaithersburg Cluster
- 8. Susan Olsen, Walter Johnson Cluster
- 9. Mike Wells, Montgomery Co. Assn. of Physical Education Teachers
- 10. Alice Arnesen, Montgomery Co. Educational Media Specialists Assn.
- 11. Roger Davis, Resource Counselors of Montgomery County
- 12. Steve Willey, Parents of Gifted/Learning Disabled Children
- 13. Jesse Kovach, Individual
- 14. Luke Vawter, Individual
- 15. Jason Meyers, Individual
- 16. Avi Ostchega, Individual
- 17. David Fishback, Gifted and Talented Assn.
- 18. Lola Crawford, John Rossman, and Clara Mateo, Middle Start
- 19. Juanita Lott and Ming Lo, Supt.'s Advisory Committee for Gifted and Talented
- 20. Barbara Piazza, Individual
- 21. Michael Caltabiano, Individual
- 22. Tess Ibrahim, Individual
- 23. Patty Twigg, Special Needs Pre-school Parent Council
- 24. Gregory Wims, NAACP
- 25. Dana Eason, Stephen Knolls Parent Staff Assn.
- 26. Bryon Patterson, Individual

For the record, Mr. Abrams stated that he would not be able to attend the January 20 hearing, but he would review the testimony submitted.

Re: ADJOURNMENT

The president adjourned the meeting at 10:30 p.m.

PRESIDENT	
SECRETARY	
SECKETAKI	