Shirley Brandman,
President
Christopher Barclay,
Vice President
Laura Berthiaume
Judith Docca
Michael Durso
Philip Kauffman
Patricia O'Neill
Alan Xie
Joshua P. Starr,
Superintendent

MONTGOMERY COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION AGENDA

850 Hungerford Drive, Rockville, MD 20850 301-279-3617 BOE@mcpsmd.org

www.montgomeryschoolsmd.org/boe

FY 2013 OPERATING BUDGET HEARING

The mission of the Montgomery County Board of Education is to provide leadership and oversight for a high quality educational system with community-supported goals, policies, and resources committed to benefit our growing and diverse student population.

Wednesday, January 18, 2012, 7:00 p.m.

When a speaker begins, a green light will go on. Thirty seconds prior to the expiration of the speaker's time, a yellow light will go on accompanied by a beep. The red light and buzzer signal that the speaker's time has expired, and the speaker is not to continue beyond this point. Individuals and organizations may not cede time to others who have signed up. All speakers have been requested to provide 20 copies of their testimony. If you have not already provided copies, please give these copies to staff (located at the right front of the auditorium) at the time of the speaker's presentation. The Board will have work sessions on the budget on January 25 and 26. Final adoption of the proposed budget is scheduled for February 14, 2012.

Designated organizations/municipalities/elected officials/clusters will receive 5 minutes for testimony; individuals will receive 3 minutes each for testimony.

7:00 p.m. Jerry Klobukowski, Commissioner of Poolesville

Anthony Trinh, President, MCR/MCJC

Doug Prouty, Montgomery County Education Association

Deb Mugge, Montgomery County Association of Administrative Personnel

Merle Cuttitta, SEIU Local 500

Robert Monsheimer, Montgomery County Taxpayers League

NAACP Parents Council

Megan Yang, Commission on Children and Youth

Board Questions

7:45 Whitman Cluster: Elise Brown Hughes

Bethesda-Chevy Chase Cluster: Lynn King Walter Johnson Cluster: Jennifer Cope Wheaton Cluster: Shebra Evans

Board Questions

8:10 Northwood Cluster: Stephanie Helsing

Einstein Cluster: Jean Claude Zenklusen

Blair Cluster: Susan Fleck

Board Questions

8:30 Wootton Cluster: Richard Edelman

Rockville Cluster: Amy Hartley

Richard Montgomery Cluster: Cheryl Peirce

Poolesville Cluster: Donna Lowell Churchill Cluster: Melanie Twomey Kennedy Cluster: Frances Frost Board of Education January 18, 2012

Board Questions

9:05	Individuals and Organizations (3 minutes each)
1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7.	Antonio Cardoso Hernandez, ESOL Bilingual Advisory Committee Jennifer Jones Liz Roth, ARC of Montgomery County Linda Krimm Susan Mathis Heather Borsum Tom Jacobson, Montgomery Blair PTA
	Board Questions

9:30 p.m. Adjournment