Shirley Brandman, President Christopher Barclay, Vice President Laura Berthiaume Judith Docca Michael Durso Philip Kauffman Patricia O'Neill Alan Xie Joshua P. Starr, Superintendent

MONTGOMERY COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION AGENDA

850 Hungerford Drive, Rockville, MD 20850 301-279-3617 BOE@mcpsmd.org

www.montgomeryschoolsmd.org/boe

FY 2013 OPERATING BUDGET HEARING

The mission of the Montgomery County Board of Education is to provide leadership and oversight for a high quality educational system with community-supported goals, policies, and resources committed to benefit our growing and diverse student population.

Wednesday, January 11, 2012, 7:00 p.m.

When a speaker begins, a green light will go on. Thirty seconds prior to the expiration of the speaker's time, a yellow light will go on accompanied by a beep. The red light and buzzer signal that the speaker's time has expired, and the speaker is not to continue beyond this point. Individuals and organizations may not cede time to others who have signed up. All speakers have been requested to provide 20 copies of their testimony. If you have not already provided copies, please give these copies to staff (located at the right front of the auditorium) before the time of the speaker's presentation. The Board will have work sessions on the budget on January 25 and 26. Final adoption of the proposed budget is scheduled for February 14, 2012.

Designated organizations/municipalities/elected officials/clusters will receive 5 minutes for testimony; individuals will receive 3 minutes each for testimony.

7:00 p.m. Kristin Trible, President of MCCPTA

Board Questions

7:10 Watkins Mill Cluster: Sumbal Sheldon

Magruder Cluster: Martha Schaerr Gaithersburg Cluster: Kathy Lloyd Damascus Cluster: Jennifer McDonald

Board Questions

7:35 Sherwood Cluster: Virginia Twombly

Springbrook Cluster: Reva Gambrell

Paint Branch Cluster: Princess Akwura-Igwebuike

Blake Cluster: Larry Edmonds

Board Questions

8:00 Seneca Valley Cluster: Kevin David

Quince Orchard Cluster: Jim Keenan Northwest Cluster: Beth Kennington Clarksburg Cluster: Janet Sanchez

Board Questions

Individuals and Organizations 8:25

- Julie Reiley 1.
- Chris Lloyd 2.
- Judith Amick, Montgomery County School Psychologists Association 3.
- Deb Fagin 4.
- 5.
- Jeannette Marin, School Library Media Programs Mini Varughese, Cedar Grove Elementary School PTA 6.
- Margarita Sol 7.

Board Questions

9:00 Adjournment