Shirley Brandman, President Patricia O'Neill, Vice President Christopher Barclay Laura Berthiaume Judith Docca Philip Kauffman Quratul-Ann Malik Nancy Navarro Jerry D. Weast, Superintendent

MONTGOMERY COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION AGENDA

850 Hungerford Drive, Rockville, MD 20850 301-279-3617 www.montgomeryschoolsmd.org/boe

The mission of the Montgomery County Board of Education is to provide leadership and oversight for a high quality educational system with community-supported goals, policies, and resources committed to benefit our growing and diverse student population.

FY 2010 OPERATING BUDGET HEARING

Meetings in 2009: Business Meeting: 1 Special Meeting: 0 Hearing: 2

Wednesday, January 21, 2009, 7:00 p.m.

When a speaker begins, a green light will go on. Thirty seconds prior to the expiration of the speaker = s time, a yellow light will go on

accompanied by a beep. The red light and buzzer signal that the speaker = s time has expired, and the speaker is not to continue beyond this point. Individuals and organizations may not cede time to others who have signed up. All speakers have been requested to provide 25

copies of their testimony. Please give these copies to staff (located at the right front of the auditorium) at the time of the speaker = s presentation. The Board will have worksessions on the budget on January 28 and 29. Final adoption of the proposed budget is scheduled for February 9, 2009.

7:00 p.m.	Jerry Klobukowski, Commissioner of Poolesville	3 minutes
	Luis Aguilera, student, Gaithersburg High School	3 minutes
	Mayra Dubon, student, Gaithersburg High School	3 minutes
	Janet Guzman, Students Advancement Via Individual Determination	3 minutes
	Joanna Miller, student, Commission on Children and Youth	3 minutes
	Leah Haygood, student, Loiederman PTSA	3 minutes
	Board Questions	
7:20	Brittney Johnson, MCR/MCJC	5 minutes
	Bonnie Cullison, Montgomery County Education Association	5 minutes
	Rebecca Newman, Montgomery County Association of Administrative and Supervisory Personnel	5 minutes
	Betty Montgomery, SEIU Local 500	5 minutes
	Wayne Goldstein, Montgomery County Civic Federation	5 minutes
	Robert Monsheimer, Montgomery County Taxpayers League	5 minutes
	Henry Hailstock, NAACP Parents Council	5 minutes
	Board Questions	
8:00	Churchill Cluster: Laura Siegel	8 minutes
	Richard Montgomery Cluster: Lori Merrill	8 minutes
	Rockville Cluster: Amy Hartley	8 minutes

	Wootton Cluster: Rich Edelman	8 minutes	
	Board Questions		
8:30	Blair Cluster: Bladimir Duenas	8 minutes	
	Einstein Cluster: Kelly Giblin	8 minutes	
	Kennedy Cluster: Ricky Ford	8 minutes	
	Northwood Cluster: Jennifer Chambers	8 minutes	
	Board Questions		
9:00	Wheaton Cluster: Chris Zawlocki	8 minutes	
	Bethesda-Chevy Chase Cluster: Joy White	8 minutes	
	Walter Johnson Cluster: Dee Dee Jacobson	8 minutes	
	Whitman Cluster: Deborah Goldman	8 minutes	
	Board Questions		
9:30	Individuals and Organizations (3 minutes each)		

- 1. Joan Karasik, Special Education
- 2. Karen Leggett, Transition Work Group
- 3. Janis Sartucci, Parents Coalition
- 4. Tim Johnson, Padres Latinos en Acción
- 5. Liz Roth, ARC of Montgomery County/Autism Society of America
- 6. Tina Progar, Least Restrictive Environment Access Group
- 7. Robert Astrove, Individual
- 8. Kathryn Marshall, Collaborative Autism Pre-School Program
- 9. Dwayne Herndon, Individual

Board Questions

- 10. Evie Frankl, Montgomery Education Forum
- 11. Linda Krimm, Individual
- 12. Bryan Bloomer, Individual
- 13. Doreen Muller, Individual
- 14. Susan Conbere, Individual
- 15. Mike Dinkin, Individual
- 16. Bruce Meier, Parkland MS PTA President
- 17. John Brothers, Individual
- 18. Joyce Breiner, Individual

Board Questions

- 10:30 p.m. Adjournment
- PLEASE NOTE: Next year, based on the Board Handbook that was adopted on November 11, 2008, the times for testimony will change as follows:

Certain organizations/municipalities/elected officials/clusters 5 Individuals 3

5 minutes 3 minutes