Shirley Brandman, President Patricia O'Neill, Vice President Christopher Barclay Laura Berthiaume Judith Docca Philip Kauffman Quratul-Ann Malik Nancy Navarro Jerry D. Weast, Superintendent

## MONTGOMERY COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION AGENDA

850 Hungerford Drive, Rockville, MD 20850 301-279-3617 www.montgomeryschoolsmd.org/boe

The mission of the Montgomery County Board of Education is to provide leadership and oversight for a high quality educational system with community-supported goals, policies, and resources committed to benefit our growing and diverse student population.

## FY 2010 OPERATING BUDGET HEARING

Meetings in 2009: Business Meeting: 1 Special Meeting: 0 Hearing: 1

# Wednesday, January 14, 2009, 7:00 p.m.

When a speaker begins, a green light will go on. Thirty seconds prior to the expiration of the speaker = s time, a yellow light will go on. The

red light and buzzer signal that the speaker = s time has expired, and the speaker is not to continue beyond this point. Individuals and organizations may not cede time to others who have signed up. All speakers have been requested to provide 25 copies of their testimony.

Please give these copies to staff (located at the right front of the auditorium) at the time of the speaker = s presentation. The Board will have worksessions on the budget on January 28 and 29. Final adoption of the proposed budget is scheduled for February 9, 2009.

7:00 p.m.	Kay Romero, President of MCCPTA	5 minutes
	Sarah Crews, student, Montgomery Village Middle School PTSA	3 minutes
	Jacob Hurwitz, student	3 minutes
	Rosanne Hurwitz, individual	3 minutes
	Board Questions	
7:20	Northwest Cluster Speaker: Susan Burkinshaw	8 minutes
	Poolesville Cluster Speaker: Sarah Defnet	8 minutes
	Quince Orchard Cluster Speaker: Paul Morrison	8 minutes
	Seneca Valley Cluster Speaker: Kevin David	8 minutes
	Board Questions	
7:55	Blake Cluster Speaker: Dawn Dolan	8 minutes
	Paint Branch Cluster Speaker: Patti Twigg	8 minutes
	Springbrook Cluster Speaker: Pamela Johnson	8 minutes
	Sherwood Cluster Speaker: Fran Simons	8 minutes

#### **Board Questions**

8:30	Clarksburg Cluster Speaker: Jaimie Jacobson	8 minutes
	Damascus Cluster Speaker: Leslie Cuneo	8 minutes
	Watkins Mill Cluster	8 minutes
	Speaker: Susan Young	
	Magruder Cluster	8 minutes
	Speaker: Annie Foster Ahmed	
	Gaithersburg Cluster	8 minutes
	Speaker: Valerie Rivers	
	Board Questions	
9:15	Individuals and Organizations (3 minutes each)	
2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7.	Gail Kaltman, Reading Specialists Sharon Friedman, Mental Health Association Lisa Kehayias-Farhi, STD Teachers Ellen Widoff, CAPP Program Ricki Sabia, Individual Jennifer O'Halloran, Montgomery County Educational Media Specialist Association Chris Biamonte, Individual Tashaun Pierre, Individual Lyda Astrove, Individual	
10.	Kelly Gruitt, Montgomery County School Psychologists	

#### **Board Questions**

- 11. Kathy Reger, Montgomery County School Psychologists
- 12. Judy Lei-Hernandez, Individual
- 13. Eric Carter, PPW Association of MCPS
- 14. Dr. Ana Maria Arevalo, ESOL Bilingual Advisory Committee
- 15. Sharon Wilson, Individual
- 16. Danetta Fofanah, Individual
- 17. Eduardo Gerlein, Individual
- 18. Kimberly Lourenco, CAPP Private School/Public School Partnership
- 19. Eric Luedtke, Individual
- 20. Joe Hamblin, Parkland MS PTA

#### **Board Questions**

### 10:30 Adjournment

PLEASE NOTE: Next year, based on the Board Handbook that was adopted on November 11, 2008, the times for testimony will change as follows:

Organizations/ municipalities/elected officials/clusters	5 minutes
Individuals	3 minutes