Nancy Navarro, President Shirley Brandman, Vice President Steve Abrams Christopher Barclay Sharon W. Cox Judith Docca Quratul-Ann Malik Patricia O'Neill Jerry D. Weast, Superintendent

MONTGOMERY COUNTY BOARD OF EDUCATION AGENDA

850 Hungerford Drive, Rockville, MD 20850 301-279-3617

www.montgomeryschoolsmd.org/boe

The mission of the Montgomery County Board of Education is to provide leadership and oversight for a high quality educational system with community-supported goals, policies, and resources committed to benefit our growing and diverse student population.

FACILITIES HEARING

Meetings in 2008: Business Meeting: 18

Special Meeting: 8 Hearing: 4

Wednesday, November 12, 2008, 7:00 p.m.

When a speaker begins, a green light will go on. Thirty seconds prior to the expiration of the speaker's time, a yellow light will go on. The red light and buzzer signals that the speaker's time has expired, and the speaker is not to continue beyond this point. Individuals and organizations may not cede time to others who have signed up. All speakers have been requested to provide 25 copies of their testimony. Please give these copies to staff (located at the right front of the auditorium) at the time of the speaker's presentation. The Board will take final action on the boundaries, facilities, and the CIP at its meeting at 6:00 p.m. on Thursday, November 20, 2008.

7:00 p.m.	Kay Romero, President, MCCPTA	10 minutes
	Municipalities and Countywide Organizations (3 minutes)	
	Tony Tomasello, Assistant City Manager, Gaithersburg	3 minutes
	Board Questions	
7:15	Damascus Cluster – Leslie Cuneo	5 minutes
7:20	Clarksburg Cluster – Jaimie Jacobson	15 minutes
7:35	Gaithersburg Cluster – Steve Augustino	5 minutes
7:40	Magruder Cluster – Dawn Trahern	5 minutes
7:45	Watkins Mill Cluster – Martha Crew	5 minutes
	Board Questions	
7:55	Bethesda-Chevy Chase Cluster – Craig Brown	5 minutes
8:00	Walter Johnson Cluster – Aimee House	5 minutes
8:05	Whitman Cluster – Deborah Goldman	5 minutes
	Board Questions	
	Downcounty Consortium	
8:15	Wheaton Cluster – Grace Barnes	5 minutes
8:20	Montgomery Blair Cluster – Susan Fleck	5 minutes

8:25	Einstein Cluster – Kelly Giblin	5 minutes
8:30	Kennedy Cluster – Ricky Ford	5 minutes
8:35	Northwood Cluster – Mary Abe	5 minutes
	Board Questions	
8:45	Individuals (2 minutes each) and Civic Groups (3 minutes)	
1. 2. 3. 4. 5. 6. 7.	Ariel Grill Marcela Karns, Lake Timberidge HOA Monica Hayes, East Bethesda Citizens Association Cyril Draffin, President, Deerfield Weathered Oak Citizens Association Chris McDermott, President, Little Bennett Elementary School PTA Sam Campbell, President, Stephen Knolls PSA Briana Jones, Gaithersburg Middle School PTA Board Questions	2 minutes 3 minutes 3 minutes 3 minutes 2 minutes 2 minutes 2 minutes 2 minutes
9:15	Adjournment	

This agenda is available in an alternative format upon request, under the Americans with Disabilities Act, by contacting the Public Information Office at 301-279-3391 or 1-800-735-2258 (Maryland Relay). Individuals who need special accommodations in communicating with the Board should call 301-279-3617.