Counseling Services Department

Welcome to the Counseling Services Department!

Our Mission is to support all students academically, emotionally and socially so that they may develop their unique talents and abilities to their fullest potential.

We are committed to ensuring high quality school counseling programs that are comprehensive and developmentally appropriate which foster academic, personal, interpersonal, and career development to all students. School counselors will collaborate with parents, students, staff, and the community to remove barriers to learning and provide opportunities and supports to empower students to embrace their full potential and achieve their academic and personal aspirations.

Vision:

  • To promote respect among students and staff
  • Encourage students to challenge themselves academically and pursue a rigorous curriculum
  • Work with students, staff and parents to promote a spirit of cooperation.

Contact:

   Hours: 7:00am - 3:30pm
   Office: 301-924-3210
   Fax: 301-924-3220 

Counselor Assignments

Counselors are assigned to students based on the students last name.  Use the following table to determine your counselor:

  Counselor Email Grade 9-11  Grades 12
 Elizabeth Al-Atrash, Resource Counselor at Sherwood HS Elizabeth Giffen
Resource Counselor
 Elizabeth_K_Giffen@mcpsmd.org   A - BA     A
  Greg Carter  Gregory_A_Carter@mcpsmd.org   BE - DA B - CAP
  Sue Bray  Susanne_Bray@mcpsmd.org   DE - GRI CAR - FD
  Kelly Singleton Kelly Singleton  Kelly_M_Singleton@mcpsmd.org GRO - KE FE - JA

 Christina(1)

Christina Newbill  Christina_M_Newbill@mcpsmd.org KH - MEH JB - MAR
  Kiana Thompson  Kiana_K_Thompson@mcpsmd.org MEJ - PRA MAS - PE
 Bill Sartori, Sherwood HS Counseling Bill Sartori  William_L_Sartori@mcpsmd.org PRO - STA PF - ST
 Jamii Avery, Sherwood HS Counseling Jamii Avery  Jamii_Avery@mcpsmd.org STE - Z      SU - Z

 

  Secretaries Email
 Jenny Jenny Davis  Jenny_S_Davis@mcpsmd.org  
 Barbara Lee, Sherwood HS Counseling Barbara Lee  Barbara_A_Lee@mcpsmd.org

 

  Additional staff who support
the Counseling Department:
Email
 Mrs. Janette Hernandez, Registrar at Sherwood HS Counseling Mrs. Janette Hernandez, Registrar (301) 924-3286
 Mr. Joe Hock, College/Career Advisor at Sherwood HS Mr. Joe Hock, College/Career Advisor (301) 924-3219

 

Students may also be referred to
the following Student Services staff:
Position
Ms. Lajuana Maynard Pupil Personnel Worker
Ms. Nancy Baglin

School Psychologist