Eleven MCPS Students Receive National Achievement Scholarships

April 11, 2013
Eleven high school seniors from Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) have been selected as 2013 National Achievement Scholarship winners by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. This highly selective scholarship competition recognizes outstanding academic achievement of African American high school seniors across the United States.

Winners are awarded $2,500 scholarships, which are privately financed by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation and grants from corporate organizations and professional associations. The MCPS recipients are among 800 seniors across the nation and 40 in the state of Maryland who have been awarded scholarships.

The program, established in 1964, honors scholastically talented African American students and has awarded more than $100 million in college scholarships over the last 49 years. More information about the National Achievement Scholarship Program is available at

The 2013 MCPS winners and their high schools are:

Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School
Angela S. White

Montgomery Blair High School
Henok A. Addis
Rachel A. Darko
Maya A. Davis
Mireille M. Verdonk

Winston Churchill High School
Amira O. Collison

John F. Kennedy High School
Sydney M. Harper

Richard Montgomery High School
Andie S. Berry
Kiera F. Givens
Channing N. Kimble-Brown

Quince Orchard High School
Bentley M. Threat

<<Back to browse