Board of Education Names New Downcounty Elementary School; Discusses Curriculum 2.0

May 8, 2012
The Montgomery County Board of Education met on Tuesday, May 8, 2012, at the Carver Educational Services Center, 850 Hungerford Drive in Rockville. Among other items, the Board selected a name for a new elementary school in the Downcounty Consortium, received an update on the implementation of Curriculum 2.0 and approved a tool that will be used for the superintendent’s evaluation and the Board’s self-evaluation.

Naming of Downcounty Elementary School
The Board of Education unanimously of those present voted to name a new Downcounty elementary school after Flora M. Singer. Mrs. Singer, who died in 2009, was a Holocaust survivor, teacher, author and longtime Montgomery County resident. The naming process for the school began in February with the Board of Education suggesting four names and asking that a committee be formed to consider those names, as well as other suggestions from the community. The committee was chaired by Kyle Heatwole, the principal of the new school, and included community members and parents of students who will attend the school. The School Naming Committee recommended six names, with Flora M. Singer Elementary School as the top choice. The other names under consideration were Forest Glen Elementary School, Josiah Henson Elementary School, Susan Niebur Elementary School, Mary McLeod Bethune Elementary School and Charles Gilchrist Elementary School. Under Board Policy FFA, the final decision is made by the Board of Education. Flora M. Singer Elementary School is scheduled to open in August 2012. Read the Board memo

Implementation of Curriculum 2.0
The Board of Education heard a presentation on the continued implementation of Curriculum 2.0, which also has been known as the elementary integrated curriculum. The new curriculum integrates content areas and emphasizes the development of critical thinking and academic success skills that help students learn to creatively solve problems, collaborate, analyze complex data and make important connections. The curriculum has been implemented in grades K-1 in all schools and in most schools in grade 2. Plans for the 2012-2013 school year include a rollout in grade 3, the implementation of standards-based report cards for grades K-3, and the development of an electronic grade book.  Read the Board memo

Evaluation Tools for the Board and Superintendent

The Board adopted tools that will be used to evaluate the performance of Superintendent Joshua P. Starr and for the Board to evaluate itself. The superintendent will be evaluated on seven standards—Leadership and District Culture; Policy and Governance; Communications and Community Engagement; Organizational Management; Instructional Leadership; Talent Management and Values and Ethics of Leadership. The Board of Education will conduct a self-evaluation on seven performance criteria – Establish/Promulgate District Vision and Values, Develop and Promulgate Relevant Governing Policies, Monitor Expected Student Achievement Results, Responsible Management of Resources, Community Engagement and Communication, Board Operations, and Building and Sustaining an Effective Relationship with the Superintendent.
View the evaluation and self-evaluation tools

Distinguished Service Awards

The Board of Education approved a resolution to change its timeline for its Annual Awards for Distinguished Service to Public Education in Montgomery County to facilitate the nomination and recognition of award recipients within the same school year.  Beginning in the 2012-2013 school year, the Board will hold its award ceremony in the spring rather than in the fall.

The Board of Education approved the following administrative appointments:

Sito Narcisse, currently headmaster, The English High School, Boston Public Schools, as director of school performance, Office of School Support and Improvement
Elizabeth L. Thomas, currently principal, Kingsview Middle School, as director of school performance, Office of School Support and Improvement
Michael J. Zarchin, currently acting director of school performance, Office of School Support and Improvement, as director of school performance, Office of School Support and Improvement
Dr. Laura P. Newton, currently supervisor, School Counseling Services Unit, as director, School Counseling, Residency, and International Admissions
Stephen C. Whiting, currently principal, Rocky Hill Middle School, as director, Middle School Instruction and Achievement, Office of Curriculum and Instructional Programs
Karalee C. Turner-Little, currently staff development teacher, Northwest High School, as executive assistant to the deputy superintendent, Office of School Support and Improvement
Alison L. Serino, currently principal, A. Mario Loiederman Middle School, as principal, Westland Middle School
Kristine A. Alexander, currently acting principal, Rock View Elementary School, as principal, Rock View Elementary School
Dina E. Brewer, currently principal intern, Sherwood Elementary School, as principal, Sherwood Elementary School

Other Items:
The Board also took action on several items related to construction projects:
- Approved preliminary plans for a new
elementary school in the Clarksburg cluster;
- Approved preliminary plans for
an addition at Waters Landing Elementary School;
- Formally accepted addition projects at Brookhaven, Fairland, Fox Chapel and Harmony Hills elementary schools;
- Appointed architects to conduct feasibility studies for additions at Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School and Diamond Elementary School.

The Board of Education approved the following resolutions:
- A resolution honoring May 7-11 as the period for the 27
th annual Salute to School Food and Nutrition Services Personnel Day;
- A resolution recognizing the recipients of scholarships from the
Montgomery County Branch of the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP);
- A resolution recognizing
Pupil Personnel Worker Week.

About the Board of Education
The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.

Montgomery County Board of Education: Ms. Shirley Brandman, president; Mr. Christopher Barclay, vice president. Members: Ms. Laura Berthiaume, Dr. Judy Docca, Mr. Michael Durso, Mr. Phil Kauffman, Ms. Patricia O’Neill, and Mr. Alan Xie, student member. Dr. Joshua P. Starr, superintendent and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617.

<<Back to browse