MCPS Students Recipients of Several Prestigious Scholarships

May 8, 2012
Twenty-five Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) students have recently received prestigious scholarships and awards for their outstanding academic performance and community involvement.

2012 U.S. Presidential Scholar

One MCPS student has been named a 2012 U.S. Presidential Scholar. The MCPS honoree is one of 141 high school seniors from across the nation to be chosen for this award. Scholars are selected based on their academic success, artistic excellence, community service and leadership. Recipients of this award are honored during an annual ceremony in Washington D.C. The U.S. Presidential Scholars program was established in 1964, and more than 6,000 of the nation’s top-performing students have been honored since its inception.

The U.S. Presidential Scholar from MCPS is:
·  Ziyao Wang, Montgomery Blair High School

To learn more about the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program, visit

Bill and Melinda Gates Millennium Scholarship

Two MCPS high school students have been named recipients of the Gates Millennium Scholarship.

These good-through-graduation scholarships can be used at any accredited college in the United States. Funded by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, the amount of the scholarship is based on the cost of tuition, fees, books and living expenses for the 2012-2013 academic year, as well as the availability of grants and other scholarships. The Gates Millennium Scholars Program was established in 1999 to provide low-income students from African American, American Indian/Alaska native, Asian Pacific Islander American, or Hispanic American backgrounds with an opportunity to complete an undergraduate education in any discipline they choose.

The 2012 MCPS Gates Millennium Scholarship Recipients are:
·  Camila Chile, Gaithersburg High School
·  Dina Yared, Rockville High School

To learn more about the Gates Millennium Scholarship Program, visit

National Carson Scholars Fund

Twenty-two Montgomery County Public School (MCPS) students are being honored by the National Carson Scholars Fund, a non-profit organization that promotes academic excellence and humanitarian qualities.

The Carson Scholars Fund chose three MCPS students—one eighth grader and two high school juniors—as first-time recipients of the honor, which awards them with a $1,000 college scholarship.

Nineteen additional MCPS students—all of whom won a Carson scholarship in previous years—were selected as repeat winners, or “recognized scholars,” for demonstrating multiple years of academic and humanitarian achievement. Those students range from 6th grade to 12th grade.

Every year, the Carson Scholars Fund honors students in Grades 4 through 11(and occasionally Grade 12) who demonstrate strong academic achievement and a commitment to their community through service and humanitarian acts. The fund invests the $1,000 scholarship awards until students graduate from high school. Awards are paid directly to the four-year accredited institution in which students enroll.

The Carson Scholars Fund was founded in 1994 by Dr. Benjamin S. Carson, a renowned pediatric neurosurgeon at Johns Hopkins University in Baltimore, and his wife, Candy Carson. The couple wanted to spotlight and support students who are academically talented and socially conscious.

The 2012 MCPS Carson Scholars are:

First-time Scholars:
·  Peter Asch, Montgomery Blair High School
·  Marilyn Hazlett, Robert Frost Middle School
·  Emma Poe-Yamagata, Sherwood High School

Repeat Scholars:
·  Sahra Akbari, Paint Branch High School
·  Valerie Bakly, Poolesville High School
·  Ariel Blakey, Montgomery Blair High School
·  Fresia Blanco-Romero, Montgomery Blair High School
·  Abigail Broadhurst, Rockville High School
·  Alfredo Colina Iturralde, Gaithersburg High School
·  Ishaun Datta, Montgomery Blair High School
·  Naqiya Ghulamali, Kingsview Middle School
·  Madeline Harlow, Richard Montgomery High School
·  Michelle A. He, Thomas S. Wootton High School
·  Yoon Shik Hong, Clarksburg High School
·  Paige Leckie, Julius West Middle School
·  Emma Morris, Montgomery Blair High School
·  Howard Nicholson, III, Roberto Clemente Middle School
·  Jackson Pierce-Felker, Thomas S. Wootton High School
·  Alana Richards, Takoma Park Middle School
·  Joshua Seigel, Julius West Middle School
·  Jingjing Xu, Montgomery Blair High School
·  Hal Zeitlin, Winston Churchill High School

To learn more about the Carson Scholars Fund, visit

<<Back to browse