Eighteen MCPS Students Win National Merit $2,500 Scholarships

May 4, 2012
Eighteen Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) seniors from nine high schools have been awarded the National Merit $2,500 Scholarships financed by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation.

The students are among 56 high school seniors in Maryland to be selected in the second group of winners in the 57th annual National Merit Scholarship Program. The scholars were selected from a pool of more than 15,000 students, and will receive a one-time award of $2,500 for post-secondary education.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) was established in 1955 to honor scholastically talented youth and encourage academic excellence at all levels of education. The scholarships are privately funded by NMSC, and are underwritten by more than 400 corporate and college sponsors. Recipients are judged to have the strongest record of accomplishments and greatest potential for success in college.

Additional National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced later this year.

The MCPS winners, their schools and intended fields of study are:

Bethesda-Chevy Chase High School
Dimitrios I. Halikias, Economics
Elizabeth W. Himwich, Physics

Montgomery Blair High School
Enoch S. Hsiao, Computer Science

Winston Churchill High School
Charlotte W. Bourg, Science
Derek L. Gritz, Medicine
Raymond Y. Li, Medicine

Quince Orchard High School
Jane A. Chen, Law

Richard Montgomery High School
Janet An, Business
Kari B. Barclay, Theater
Zachary A. Kram, Law
Eunah Lee, Medicine
Samantha L. Reback, Neuroscience/Education

Springbrook High School
Gregory W. Ridgway, Mathematics

Poolesville High School
Nadia Abutaleb, Bioengineering
Eric J. Harrison, Computer Science

Walt Whitman High School
Lucy Chen, Medicine
Kevin Cheng, Law

Walter Johnson High School
Laura C. Murnane, Pediatrics

National Merit Scholarship Corporation

<<Back to browse