Board of Education Approves Community Montessori Charter School, Revises Strategic Plan To Ensure Stronger Family Partnerships

July 26, 2011
The Montgomery County Board of Education held its monthly evening meeting on Monday, July 25, 2011 in the Board Meeting Room of the Carver Educational Services Center in Rockville. You can view the agenda for the meeting online and, in the near future, minutes and video of this meeting will also posted on the Board website. Below is a brief summary of the meeting: 

Resolution for Community Montessori Charter School Application
The Board of Education, by vote of 6 to 2, approved the application of Crossway Community Montessori to open a public charter school in Montgomery County. The application is subject to the satisfactory completion of interior modifications for space reconfiguration and a kitchen upgrade, compliance with all legal requirements applicable to the facility, and is also contingent upon successful negotiation of the charter agreement. Read the Resolution

Strategic Plan- Our Call to Action: Pursuit of Excellence
The Board’s strategic plan, Our Call to Action: Pursuit of Excellence, emphasizes the development of productive partnerships for education through a variety of strategies, including welcoming all families into the school community; communicating effectively; supporting student success; speaking up for children; sharing power and collaborating with the community.  
The 2011-2016 revisions reflect a restructuring of Goal 3- Strengthen Productive Partnerships for Education with specific goals to develop and support greater home and school partnerships. The specific goals include items such as ensuring a welcoming environment in every school, teaching parents how to be advocates for their children and building the capacity of staff to develop meaningful family engagement practices.
Further, there were minor tweaks to strategies and initiatives in Goals 1, 2, 4, and 5, and several cost-neutral strategies aimed at improving systems, structures, and processes that have contributed to the district’s success over the past 12 years. 
Read the Resolution

Administrative Appointments
The Board of Education approved the following administrative appointments:
Donna S. Hollingshead
, currently executive director, Office of the Deputy Superintendent of Schools, as community superintendent for the Winston Churchill, Richard Montgomery, Rockville, Poolesville, and Thomas S. Wootton Clusters, Office of School Performance
Beth Schiavino-Narvaez
, currently assistant superintendent/chief academic officer, Springfield Public Schools, Springfield, MA, as community superintendent for the Northeast Consortium and Sherwood Cluster, Office of School Performance
Marcia S. Vogel
, currently general manager, communications, Houston Independent School District, Houston, Texas, as supervisor of special projects, Office of Communications
Jae W. Hwang
, currently social studies team leader, grade 8, White Oak Middle School, as administrative assistant to the chief technology officer, Office of the Chief Technology Officer
Nancy A. Lucas
, currently assistant principal, Burning Tree Elementary School, as coordinator, Preschool Education Program
Adrienne L. Karamihas
, currently capital budget manager, Department of Facilities Management, as budget and operations manager, Department of Facilities Management
L. Vicky Lake-Parcan
, currently director, Middle School Instruction and Achievement, as principal, Neelsville Middle School
Arthur Williams
, currently principal, Francis C. Hammond Middle School 2, Alexandria City Public School, as principal, Forest Oak Middle School
Wanda P. Coates
, currently assistant principal, Dr. Sally K. Ride Elementary School, as principal, S. Christa McAuliffe Elementary School

About the Board of Education
Montgomery County Board of Education: Mr. Christopher S. Barclay, president; Ms. Shirley Brandman, vice president. Members: Ms. Laura Berthiaume, Dr. Judy Docca, Mr. Michael Durso, Mr. Phil Kauffman, Ms. Patricia O’Neill, and Mr. Alan Xie, student member. Dr. Joshua P. Starr, superintendent and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617. 
The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside.

<<Back to browse