MCPS Class of 2011 Earns 89 National Merit Scholarship Awards

July 11, 2011
Twenty-two Montgomery County Public Schools (MCPS) students have received National Merit Scholarships in the latest round of awards, sponsored by universities and colleges. This represents nearly half of the total number of the recipients in the state of Maryland. 

Earlier this year, it was announced that 67 MCPS students had been awarded National Merit Scholarships—17 students were awarded college-sponsored scholarships in May, 12 students have been awarded corporate-sponsored scholarships, 13 students have been awarded National Achievement Scholarships for academically promising African American students, and 25 MCPS students have been awarded National Merit $2,500 Scholarships.

The 22 students bring the MCPS total of National Merit Scholarship winners to 89, 19 more than the previous year.

The students receiving the latest round of awards and their high schools are:

Rebecca N. Curtis, Walt Whitman
August P. Holdrich, Walt Whitman
William H. Holdrich, Walt Whitman
Stephanie E. Sansbury, Walt Whitman
Jonathan B. Song, Montgomery Blair
Lina M. Valivullah, Walter Johnson
Michael J. M. Jest, Bethesda-Chevy Chase
Andrew L. Gibiansky, Montgomery Blair
David Z. Liao, Montgomery Blair
Raja Ratna Murthy Ayyagari, Poolesville
Aaron Z. Chan, Richard Montgomery
Savannah L. Cheo, Montgomery Blair
Kathryn K. Hirabayashi, Richard Montgomery
Clara Wu Huang, Thomas S. Wootton
Shelley Jin, Montgomery Blair
Garrett M. Bourg, Winston Churchill
Fang Y. Cao, Montgomery Blair
Elizabeth H. Hunter, Thomas S. Wootton
Benjamin H. Lewis, Thomas S. Wootton
Lenore M. Koenig, Richard Montgomery
Naomi A. Lisse, Walter Johnson
Andrew N. Rodgers-Schatz, Montgomery Blair

<<Back to browse