Board Approves Amended Agreements with Employee Organizations, Delays Decision on Application of Community Montessori Public Charter School

July 8, 2011

Board Swears in the Student Member of the Board and Welcomes Joshua Starr as MCPS Superintendent

The Montgomery County Board of Education met on Thursday, July 7, and officially welcomed Superintendent Joshua P. Starr. The Board approved amended agreements with three employee organizations. The Board deferred action on the charter school application of Community Montessori Charter School until July 25 and denied the application of Seneca Creek Charter School. Student Member of the Board Alan Xie was sworn in during the meeting and was appointed to the Board’s Policy Committee. The Board also took preliminary action on the curriculum framework for world languages and appointed three administrators.

Student Member of the Board
Student Member of the Board Alan Xie was sworn in for a second one-year term and was appointed to the Board of Education’s Policy Committee.

Amended Agreements with Employee Organizations
The Board approved amended agreements with the Montgomery County Education Association, the Service Employees International Union Local 500, and the Montgomery County Association of Administrators and Principals. The modifications included revised salary and other economic items with specified reopeners through Fiscal Year 2014. Fiscal Year 2011 salary schedules will remain in effect for Fiscal Year 2012. Step increases and longevity supplements will not be implemented during FY 2012. The organizations also agreed to continue working through the Joint Work Group on Health Care Cost Containment to develop recommendations to reduce overall health insurance plan costs.

Action on the Charter School Applications
The Board voted to delay until July 25 a decision on the application of Community Montessori to open a public charter school in Montgomery County. The Board felt a more careful review of the plan for enrolling students was necessary before final action could be taken. After an extensive review process, including a recommendation by a multistakeholder panel, the Board voted to deny the application for the Seneca Creek Charter School.

World Language Curriculum Framework
The Board voted preliminary approval of the World Languages Curriculum Framework. The goal of the curriculum is to articulate how students will be prepared for linguistic and cultural competence in a global society. The framework establishes the organization and sequence of what students should know and be able to do at the end of each subject/grade level or course. The framework will also guide the selection of new instructional materials and inform the design of professional development opportunities. An amendment was added to clarify that the framework be sent out for public review before the Board takes final action in the fall.

Human Resources Appointments
The Board approved the appointments of the following administrators:

Andrea L. Christman, currently media specialist, Rosa M. Parks Middle School, as supervisor, School Library Media Programs

Elliot M. Alter, currently assistant principal, Meadow Hall Elementary School, as principal, Beall Elementary School

Kimberly A. Statham, currently independent education consultant, as principal, Wheaton Woods Elementary School

About the Board of Education
Montgomery County Board of Education: Mr. Christopher Barclay, president; Ms. Shirley Brandman, vice president. Members: Ms. Laura Berthiaume, Dr. Judy Docca, Mr. Michael Durso, Mr. Phil Kauffman, Ms. Patricia O’Neill, and Mr. Alan Xie, student member. Dr. Joshua P. Starr, superintendent and secretary-treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617. 
The Montgomery County Board of Education is the official educational policymaking body in the county. The Board is responsible for the direction and operation of the public school system. The Board consists of seven county residents elected by voters for a four-year term and a student elected by secondary school students for a one-year term. Board members are elected countywide but run at-large or from the Board district in which they reside. 

<<Back to browse