Five Students Named Semifinalists for 1999 Presidential Scholars Awards

April 19, 1999
1999 Presidential Scholars awards, one of the highest honors given to high school seniors in the United States.

The five students are among 547 semifinalists in the nation who were selected for their exceptional performance on the Scholastic Assessment Test, school transcripts, student essays, self-assessments, description of activities and, for the scholars in the arts semifinalists, their performance in the Arts Recognition and Talent Search conducted by the National Foundation for Advancement in the Arts. The MCPS students account for about half of the 11 Maryland semifinalists.

Three of the local students will be considered for academic scholar awards and two will be considered for Presidential Scholars in the Arts awards.

The academic semifinalists and their schools are:

  • Christopher L. Guo, Thomas S. Wootton High School;

  • Elaine A. Kim, Montgomery Blair High School; and

  • Aaron M. Tievsky, Walt Whitman High School.

    The arts semifinalists and their schools are:

  • Christopher N. Baily, Montgomery Blair High School and the Visual Art Center at Albert Einstein High School; and

  • Evan M. Goldman, Walt Whitman High School.

    The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars, a group of private citizens appointed by the president, will select up to 141 scholars in April and announce them in May. Scholars will be chosen for their superior academic achievements, leadership qualities, strong character, involvement in community and school activities, and for the scholars in the arts semifinalists, their artistic ability and accomplishments.

    For the academic awards, the commission will choose one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and from U.S. students living abroad, and 15 students at-large. Up to 20 students from the creative and performing arts will be selected for the arts awards.

    Scholars will receive Presidential Scholar medallions at a ceremony during National Recognition Week in Washington, D.C. in June. The students also will meet with government officials, educators, authors, musicians, scientists and others in public life.

  • <<Back to browse