MCCPTA Honors Contributors to Special Needs

May 29, 2003
The MCCPTA Special Needs Recognition Ceremony held May 14 at the newly remodeled Newport Mill Middle School honored outstanding educators, parents, students and educational programs that have made notable contributions to the success of students with special needs.

The MCCPTA was joined by members of the Board of Education, the County Council and Montgomery County Public Schools administrative staff May 14 in recognizing the following recipients:

Outstanding Students
Alexandra Droggitis-Walter Johnson High School
Amber Minton-Beall Elementary School
Max Wingo's Special Friends Club-Damascus Elementary School

Outstanding Parents
Jan Guttman-Cashell Elementary School
LouAnn and Greg Elerick and Eileen Patterson-Judith Resnick Elementary School
Lilyan Heupel-Stephen Knolls
Jay Larson-Meadow Hall Elementary School

Parents-Honorable Mention
Robin Levis and Bill Chin-Bethesda Elementary School
Kay Romero-Albert Einstein High School

Outstanding Programs
Learning for Independence and Transition Programs-Albert Einstein High School
Gifted and Talented/Learning Disabilities Program-Thurgood Marshall Elementary School
Sixth Grade Gifted/Talented Classes Inclusion Program-Kingsview Middle School
Emotional Disabilities Cluster Program-Richard Montgomery High School

Programs-Honorable Mention
School-Community-based Program-Cashell Elementary School
School-based Learning Center-Rock View Elementary School
John L. Gilder-RICA Rockville

Outstanding Educators
Susanna Bang-Lucy Barnsley Elementary School
Ellen Bauman-Meadow Hall Elementary School
Mary Cross-Cold Spring Elementary School
Sheila Doctors-MCPS Deaf, Hard of Hearing/Vision Program
Jane Gadson, Amy Hagar and Toni Worthington-White Oak Middle School
Janice Johanson-Bannockburn Elementary School
Claudia McInerney-MCPS Physical Disabilities Program
Diane Rosenfeld-Kensington Parkwood Elementary School
Michael Sauter-Thomas Edison High School of Technology
Rose Ann Schwartz-Kensington Parkwood Elementary School
Football Coaching Staff-Walt Whitman High School

Educators-Honorable Mention
Anthony Adee-Albert Einstein High School
Nicole Ard-North Chevy Chase Elementary School
Stephanie Chaplin-Walt Whitman High School
Maribeth Donohue-Cannon Road Elementary School
Kathleen Flaherty-Bethesda Elementary School
Anna Krasner-Woodlin Elementary School
Diane Long-Walt Whitman High School
Susan Mahone-Meadow Hall Elementary School
Theresa Otley-Strawberry Knoll Elementary School
Terry Salke-Brooke Grove Elementary School
Michelle Shannon-Programs for Students with Emotional Disabilities
Pam Skulsky-White Oak Middle School
Janice Williams-Winston Churchill High School

Special Recognition
Dr. Bobbi Jasper, former director, MCPS Department of Special Education; Kids Enjoy Exercise Now (KEEN)

<<Back to browse