Board of Education Meeting Highlights for May 27

May 28, 2003
The Board of Education met on Tuesday [May 27] and, among other items, approved a resolution to the County Council on the Annual Growth Policy Schools Test, discussed the Downcounty Consortium base areas and student choice and school assignment process, and appointed six administrators.

Annual Growth Policy Schools Test

The Board approved an amended resolution supporting the Montgomery County Planning Board staff recommendation for a new Annual Growth Policy Schools Test. The resolution emphasizes ways to increase revenue for school construction. This includes codifying the dedication of the Recordation tax to school construction projects and supporting the proposed Development Impact tax on new home construction. A copy of the resolution will be forwarded to the County Council, the county executive, the Planning Board, and municipalities.

Downcounty Consortium Base Areas and School Assignment Process

The Board discussed the superintendent’s recommendations for two key components of the Downcounty Consortium - the high school base areas and the rules and procedures for the student choice and assignment process. The recommendation will be discussed at a public hearing scheduled for June 10 at 7:00 p.m. at the Carver Educational Services Center.


The Board approved the following administrative appointments:

§ Dr. Theresa R. Alban, currently coordinator of student assessment, Office of Shared Accountability, as coordinator of program evaluation, Office of Shared Accountability.

§ Janine G. Bacquie, currently instructional specialist, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, as director, Division of Early Childhood Programs and Services.

§ Wanda G. Carroll, currently principal intern at Westbrook Elementary School, as principal of Waters Landing Elementary School.

§ Dr. Karen K. Harvey, currently executive director of instructional services, School District 11, Colorado Springs, Colorado, as director of the Department of Curriculum and Instruction.

§ Fred H. Lowenbach, currently program coordinator, Masters of Arts in Teaching Program, Johns Hopkins University, as principal of John F. Kennedy High School.

§ Dennis G. Queen, currently principal of Hill Magnet School, Winston-Salem Forsyth County Schools, Winston-Salem, North Carolina, as principal of Kingsview Middle School.


Board of Education: Mrs. Patricia B. O’Neill, president; Ms. Sharon W. Cox, vice president. Members: Mr. Kermit V. Burnett, Mr. Reginald M. Felton, Dr. Charles Haughey, Mr. Walter N. Lange, Mr. Gabe Romero, and Mr. Mihyar Alnifaidy, student member. Dr. Jerry D. Weast, superintendent and secretary treasurer. Office of the Board: 301-279-3617.

<<Back to browse