student smiling
student smiling

Mark Mann Excellence and Harmony Award

2014 Winner

Patricia Kelly 

Westover Elementary School Principal, Dr. Patricia A. Kelly, Wins Mark Mann Award 

Dr. Patricia A. Kelly, principal of Westover Elementary School, is this year’s winner of the Mark Mann Excellence and Harmony Award.

The award is presented annually to an MCPS administrator who has shown exceptional performance in promoting academic excellence, positive human relations and community outreach. Superintendent Joshua Starr presented the award to Kelly at the April 2 meeting of MCPS administrators and supervisors.

2015 Award Details

Nominations for the 2015 Mark Mann Excellence and Harmony Award are now being accepted through February 17, 2015.

About the Award

The award is designed to honor the highest qualities and most significant accomplishments of Dr. Mark Mann, former principal of Parkland Middle School, Montgomery County Public Schools. Dr. Mann was recognized throughout the system as an excellent school-based educator who dedicated himself to understanding and embracing the rich diversity of his school and community. He worked tirelessly to make everyone a vital part of school programs, activities and services.

Nomination Process


Nominations must be supported by at least two of the following: (1) a student; (2) a staff member; or (3) a parent. A minimum of two years experience as a principal is also required.

Re-Submitting Previous Nominations

Nominations made in previous years may be resubmitted. Questions should be addressed to Helen Nixon at 301-279-3900

Winner Selection and Announcement

A panel appointed by the superintendent will select the recipient, and the award will be presented in the late summer or early fall.

When and Where to Submit

Nomination Deadline

 Nomination materials must be received by 4:00 p.m. on Friday, January 9, 2015 

Nomination Forms

Mailing Address

Angela King
Montgomery County Public Schools
Office of Human Resources and Development
Mark Mann Award
45 W. Gude Drive, Suite 2100
Rockville, Maryland 20850

email Angela King 

Past Mark Mann Award Recipients


  • James G. Fernandez
    Julius West MS, 2002
  • Kathy L. Brake
    Washington Grove ES, 2001
  • Fred H. LowenbachPaint Branch HS, 2000
  • Phillip F. Gainous
    Montgomery Blair HS, 1999
  • Dr. David I. SteinbergGaithersburg MS, 1998
  • Joanne M. Basalacchi
    New Hampshire ES, 1998
  • Sharon J. JonesGaithersburg ES, 1997
  • Mark E. KelschSligo MS, 1997
  • Dr. Jerome M. Lynch
    Rocky Hill MS, 1996
  • Dr. Stephanie B. JacksonChevy Chase ES, 1995
  • Ellen P. DeYoung
    Kemp Mill ES, 1994
  • Dorothy J. Jackson
    Sligo MS, 1993
  • Dr. Joseph J. DaltonWheaton HS, 1992
  • Lois E. Bell
    Summit Hall ES, 1991

Montgomery County Public Schools

Contact MCPS

Call: 301-309-6277 | Spanish Hotline: 301-230-3073

Contact Employee & Retiree Services Center

Call: 301-517-8100 | E-mail:

©1995–2021 Montgomery County Public Schools, 850 Hungerford Drive, Rockville, Maryland 20850

Click here to log in