ESOL/Bilingual Programs → Counseling Services

ESOL Counseling Services

ETC staff

 

ESOL Transition Counselors (ETC) provide counseling services to English Language Learners (ELL) in grades Pre-K through 12. Counselors support students from a cross-cultural perspective so they can succeed academically and adjust to a new social and cultural environment while helping them stay meaningfully connected to their culture. The ETCs are a diverse team of professionals who provide counseling services districtwide and are located in schools offering intensive English services.

Our Services

Our services include, but are not limited to:

  • Provide individual and group multicultural and multilingual counseling services to ESOL and METS students.
  • Assist in the cultural, social and emotional adjustment of ESOL students in MCPS.
  • Work with school staffs and ESOL students in resolving crisis situations.
  • Assist in resolving conflicts arising from cross-cultural misunderstandings.
  • Assist ESOL students in developing decision-making skills and coping skills.
  • Collaborate with school staff and administration in cross-disciplinary problem solving processes, as necessary.
  • Assist ESOL students in developing awareness of academic, social and career alternatives in MCPS and beyond.
  • Guide students in developing awareness of academic, social, and career choices within MCPS and community.
  • Provide career and vocational counseling.
  • Work in collaboration with school-based counselors and administrators to meet the needs of ESOL students.

How To Contact Us

We recognize the importance of supporting your child and can help you with questions or concerns that may arise during the school year.

To access ESOL counseling services:

Schools with an assigned ESOL Counselor

  • Complete Referral for ESOL Counseling (MCPS Form 335-60) and submit it to the assigned ESOL Counselor.
  • The form can be filled out electronically and printed from your browser, or a blank form can be printed and filled out by hand.

Schools without an assigned ESOL Counselor

ETCs can also provide support in the languages listed below. Please send an email to one of the ETCs listed below for assistance.

LANGUAGE ETC EMAIL SCHOOLS
Amharic
Tigrinya
Mrs. Nazareth Aregai Nazareth_Aregai@mcpsmd.org Francis Scott Key MS
Silver Spring International MS
Spanish Mrs. Liz Briganty Iraina_E_Briganty@mcpsmd.org Magruder HS
Watkins Mill ES
Spanish Ms. Rina Chaves Rina_M_Chaves@mcpsmd.org Neelsville MS
Seneca Valley HS
Julius West MS
Spanish
French
Portuguese
Ms. Elisabeth Fisher Elisabeth_M_Fisher@mcpsmd.org Joann Leleck ES
A. Mario Loiederman MS
Spanish
Hebrew
Ms. Tamar Hill Tamar_C_Hill@mcpsmd.org Parkland MS
Washington Grove ES
French
Haitian Creole
Spanish
Mrs. Edelle Jean Edelle_Jean@mcpsmd.org Argyle MS
Newport Mill MS
Cantonese
Mandarin
Mrs. Vickie Kwong Vickie_T_Kwong@mcpsmd.org Harmony Hills ES
Tilden MS
Vietnamese Mr. Thomas Le Thomas_V_Le@mcpsmd.org Bethesda-Chevy Chase HS
Gaithersburg ES
New Hampshire Estates ES
Spanish Mrs. Vicky Lopez Vicky_N_Lopez@mcpsmd.org Arcola ES
Sargent Shriver ES
Spanish Ms. Evelyn Montecinos Evelyn_C_Montecinos@mcpsmd.org Forest Oak ES
Takoma Park MS
Earle B. Wood MS
Spanish Mrs. Monica Pimienta Monica_G_Pimienta@mcpsmd.org Eastern MS
Sligo MS
Spanish Mr. Marvin Rivas-Perez Marvin_I_Rivas-Perez@mcpsmd.org Col. E. Brooke Lee MS
Twinbrook ES
Mandarin Ms. Esther Wei Esther_Y_Wei@mcpsmd.org Clarksburg HS
Rolling Terrace ES
Spanish Mrs. Norca Yarborough Norca_A_Yarborough@mcpsmd.org Gaithersburg MS
Montgomery Village MS
South Lake ES