2020-2021學年的校曆

更新-2019年12月4日

教育委員會在2019年12月3日的會議上通過了2020-2021學年的校曆。 該學年將於2020年8月31日(週一)開始,並且學校的最後一天定於2021年6月16日(週三)。校曆包括182天的教學日,10天的春假, 每個學季結束時一天的規劃和專業發展日;以及9月的一天業務關閉日。


州法要求的停課日

2020年秋季的勞工節是2020年9月7日(週一);

州法要求學校在以下日期必須放假:

  • 2020年11月3日(週二): 選舉日
  • 2020年11月26日(週四)和11月27日(週五): 感恩節和節後的週五
  • 2020年12月24日(週四)至2021年1月1日(週五): 聖誕夜至元旦
  • 2021年1月18日(週一): 馬丁路德金紀念日
  • 教育委員會政策要求學校在1月20日(週三)總統就職日當天停課
  • 2021年2月15日(週一): 總統日
  • 2021年4月2日(週五): 復活節前的週五
  • 2021年4月5日(週一): 復活節後的週一
  • 2021年5月31日: 國殤日

停課的政策指南:

  • 在確定是否在特定一天停課時,教育委員會必須遵守美國憲法、聯邦和州法律、以及教育委員會政策的要求。教委會必須有非宗教的理由來停課,要以促進教育利益和提高學校系統的運作需求為形式。根據美國憲法第一修正案,學校系統不能為了促進宗教而停課。
  • 教委會政策IDA在“學年行事曆”中指出:“教委會可以為促進其它教育利益或運作需要而決定在其它時間停課。”按一下此處查看政策IDA。
  • 實施系統關閉和職業發展日活動以促進廣泛的教育和運作目標,包括: 對學生和員工的士氣產生積極影響、最大限度地提高學生和教職工的出勤率、 促進安全的學校環境、 避免干擾有效和有意義的教學、 增加教師和其他人員的規劃和學習時間、並與其他與教學行事曆和學年相關的因素保持一致。
  • 根據馬里蘭州法律的規定, 學生紀念宗教節日屬於因故缺席。

2019年11月21日:

流程和社區參與:來自MCPS各個辦公室和部門的內部工作組負責制定教學行事曆框架。該小組研究了一系列可能的情況,包括並確保符合最低教學日和學時要求(最低180天)、惡劣天氣和其他緊急情況的突發事件、與評估時間表保持一致、以及州規定的停課。

工作人員還與利益相關者會面,以收集有關行事曆和方案草案的初步反饋和意見。這些最初的對話包括:員工工會和代表、 蒙郡管理人員和校長協會聯合委員會、 創新學年實施小組、 宣傳團體、蒙郡家長教師協會、 和學生顧問委員會。 經過教委會的討論,工作人員準備好了教委會希望提出供公眾評論的方案。已確定的學年行事曆草案可供公眾評論和反饋。然後,開始進行健全的溝通和推廣工作,以確保我們的社區瞭解這些對話和製定學年行事曆的可能方向。溝通策略包括:

  • 網站提供行事曆(校曆)圖表並提供反饋意見的選項;
  • 電子郵件和Connect-ED分發邀請評論意見;
  • 網路調查;
  • 社交媒體;
  • 內部和外部利益相關者討論;和
  • 向學生推廣。

MCPS考慮這些反饋和推廣的結果,並向教育委員會提供一份公眾意見報告,作為最終確定行事曆的審議工作的一部分。

2020 – 2021 School Year Calendar


UPDATE - December 4, 2019

The Board of Education adopted the school year calendar for the 2020-2021 school year during its December 3, 2019 meeting.  The traditional school year will begin on Monday, August 31, 2020, and the last day of school is scheduled for Wednesday, June 16, 2021. The calendar includes 182 days of instruction, a 10-day spring break, one full day of planning and professional development at the end of each quarter; one operational closure in September; and two additional professional days in the second semester (February and May).

Adopted FY2021 Traditional Calendar

Adopted FY2021 Traditional Calendar

Adopted FY2021 Innovative Calendar

Adopted FY2021 Innovative Calendar


Closings Required
by State Law

In fall 2020, Labor Day falls on Monday, September 7, 2020;

State law requires schools to be closed on the following dates:

  • Tuesday, November 3, 2020: Election Day
  • Thursday, November 26 and Friday, November 27, 2020: Thanksgiving and the day after
  • Thursday, December 24, 2020, through Friday, January 1, 2021: Christmas Eve through News Year's Day
  • Monday, January 18, 2021: Martin Luther King, Jr. Day
  • Board of Education policy no longer requires schools to be closed on Inauguration Day, Wednesday, January 20 (amended Nov. 12, 2019)
  • Monday, February 15, 2021: Presidents' Day
  • Friday, April 2, 2021: Friday before Easter
  • Monday, April 5, 2021: Monday after Easter
  • Monday, May 31, 2021: Memorial Day
 

Policy Guidelines Regarding School Closures:

  • In determining whether to close schools on a particular day, the Board of Education must comply with requirements under the U.S. Constitution, federal and state law, as well as Board of Education policy. The Board must have a secular justification for closing schools, in the form of promoting educational interests and advancing operational needs of the school system. Under the First Amendment, the school system cannot be closed in order to advance religion.
  • Board Policy IDA, School Year Calendar, states that: “The Board may determine that schools should be closed at other times in furtherance of other educational interests or operational needs.” Click HERE to view Policy IDA.
  • System closures and Professional Development days are implemented to further a wide range of educational and operational objectives, including to: positively impact student and staff morale; maximize student and staff attendance; promote safe school environments; avoid disruption to the delivery of effective and meaningful instruction; increase planning and learning time for teachers and other staff; and align with other factors relevant to the instructional calendar and school year.
  • A student’s observance of a religious holiday is an excused absence under Maryland law.
 

November 21, 2019

Process and Community Engagement: An internal work group of staff from a wide range of MCPS offices and departments works to develop the instructional calendar framework. This group works through a range of possible scenarios that would include and ensure compliance with the minimum instructional day and credit hour requirements (180-day minimum), contingencies for inclement weather and other emergencies, alignment with assessment schedules, and school closures mandated by state law.

Staff also meets with stakeholders to gather initial feedback and input on the calendar and the draft scenarios. These initial conversations have include: employee associations and representatives; Montgomery County Association of Administrators and Principals Joint Collaboration Committee; Innovative School Year Implementation Group; advocacy groups; Montgomery County Council of Parent Teacher Associations; and the Student Advisory Council.

Following the Board of Education’s discussion, staff prepares the scenarios that the Board would like to put forward for public comment. The identified draft scenarios of the school year calendar are made available for public comment and feedback. A robust communication and outreach effort is then launched to ensure that our community is aware of the conversation and possible directions for development of the school year calendar. Communications strategies include:

  • Website with calendar graphics and option to provide feedback;
  • E-mail and Connect-ED distribution inviting comment;
  • Web survey;
  • Social media;
  • Internal and external stakeholder discussions; and
  • Outreach to students.

MCPS considers the results of this feedback and outreach and provides a report of the public comments to the Board of Education as part of the deliberations to finalize the calendar.