mcps bulletin logo

Fifth Grader Wins Youth Art Month’s Flag Design Contest

Grace Ahn, a fifth grader at Washington Grove Elementary School, created this winning flag design for the Youth Art Month contest, “The Earth without Art is just ‘EH.’”

Grace Ahn, a fifth grader at Washington Grove Elementary School, has been named the overall winner of the Maryland Art Education Association’s Youth Art Month’s (YAM) flag design contest, “The Earth without Art is just ‘EH.’” Her design was made into a three-by-five foot flag and will fly in the YAM Museum during this month’s National Art Education Association Conference in Fort Worth, Texas. Lauren Penn, a fifth grader at Spark M. Matsunaga Elementary School, was named an elementary school winner in the contest. Youth Art Month is an annual observance each March to emphasize the value of art and art education for all children and to encourage public support for quality school art programs.


Students on Blake High School’s “We the People…” Congressional Simulation Team competed in the state competition against seven other state high school teams. The students testified on and responded to questions on topics ranging from the philosophical underpinnings of the Constitution, to search and seizure rights, to their knowledge of current events. Blake’s team was crowned the Maryland State Champions for a second year in a row, and now advances to the national competition in Washington, D.C. Teacher Donna Phillips is the team sponsor.


Blake is also the 2013 MCPS Forensics Team Champion. Last month, Blake hosted the MCPS Forensics League Annual Awards Program. Forensics is a competition of speech, dramatic/humorous interpretation and reader’s theatre, among other things. Mike D’Anna is the Forensics Team sponsor.

Montgomery Blair High School Science, Mathematics, and Computer Science Magnet Program students Shaun Datta, Eric Neyman and Victor Xu won first place in the Calculus, Algebra, and Probability and Statistics categories, respectively, in the Johns Hopkins Math Tournament on Feb. 2. Their classmate Sachin Pandey earned second place in the Geometry category. The Blair Magnet team—Scott Wu, Daniel Yuan, Alex Zhang and Richard Zhu—won second place in team competition.


Last Updated: 3/12/2013