student smiling
student smiling

Board of EducationEducation Matters

Education Matters: Educators of Excellence


BOE President Shirley Brandman speaks with some of our school system’s award-winning educators to learn about their approach to teaching, how they engage and relate to students and how they are helping fellow teachers become more effective in the classroom.


  • Judy Brubaker, Principal of Matsunaga Elementary School
  • Brian Freiss, 2011 MCPS Teacher of the Year
  • Christine Ground, 2012 MCPS Teacher of the Year
  • Holly Pasquale, Outstanding Music Teacher of the Year by the Maryland Music Educators Association
  • Carrie Vieira, Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher of the Year

Montgomery County Public Schools

Contact MCPS

Call: 301-309-6277 | Spanish Hotline: 301-230-3073

Contact Employee & Retiree Services Center

Call: 301-517-8100 | E-mail:

©1995–2018 Montgomery County Public Schools, 850 Hungerford Drive, Rockville, Maryland 20850

Click here to log in